Poets logo

I Don’t See The Colour Red

A poem about Asexuality

By Kyla GreenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Not to say that I am colour blind

I can even see a rainbow of colours

I don’t see the colour red

I can recognize it on billboard and tv

Because we all know the colour Red sells

I don’t see the colour red

Some say the colour red is the most wonderful thing on earth

That is creates bonds and babies

I don’t see the colour red

I have been told I would see it when I meet the right person

A quarter life past

I don’t see the colour red

One colour I do see is the colour pink

Some say pink and red are the same colour

I don’t see the colour red

But I do see the colour pink around a person

For the first time

I used to be scared of the colour pink

Keeping it at arms length like other colours

Thinking the colour pink can get me distracted and vulnerable

The colour pink like the colour red makes people blind

It makes people trust other people with their temples and treasures

Some temples get burned and pillaged

Hopefully for me

I don’t see the colour red

I see the colour pink

And I want to try pink coated things with them

As crazy as that sound

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.