Poets logo

I Don’t Know

somethings in life have no explanation. the ability to accept that you may never know all things is not ignorance, but power. Often it’s not about what you know, it’s just about trying to understand

By Youri JosephPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
I Don’t Know
Photo by Luc Tribolet on Unsplash

I’ve experienced many things the few years I’ve grown on this globe that have led me to an undeniable truth and it’s this: There are a lot of things that I simply don’t know. And don’t get me wrong. I’ve craved understanding on a universal scale. I’ve searched far and wide for the holy grail of knowledge, but I’m not sure it exists. I tend to convince myself to insist that I resist to live amidst this mist of obscurity that shrouds me from reaching concrete conclusions about life’s greatest confusions. I’ve wanted to know with a surety whether or not God is real. But what can be used as indisputable evidence? And I don’t mean to speak with disrespect or irreverence. That said I also cannot conceal how I feel, and I have felt a presence. Whether we’re presented life after this present one I may never be sure, but let me assure you I have felt the essence of pure energy before. But the question ‘was it God or a ghost?’ I have no answer for. Is God a metaphor to cope with my unyielding ignorance? If so, should that make any difference? I don’t know. I just don’t. But I won’t tell a believer they’re wasting their time because as far as I know I’m wasting mine. And who’s to say that we can’t both be right. Light and night exist simultaneously all be they contrasting. The shade we’ve been casting over opposing beliefs causes nothing but grief and conflict. We’re convicts. Prisoners to a fixed mindset that derives from our primitive nature. This way of thinking is crazy. Got us going ballistic. Guru Sam once told me the nature of man is animalistic and thinking realistically he’s gotta be right. Did you know most mammals are color blind? And like animals we tend to see in black or in white. It’s either or, we refuse to even consider the ‘and’. We draw a line in the proverbial sand, seek not to understand our fellow man or try even to comprehend how we can go about things in a better way. We fear what is foreign unless it’s cars or chardonnay. Pay no respect to the perspectives that differ from our own. Our directives are home grown in our own respective motherlands. But why can’t home be Mother Earth? Are our differing opinions worth world war or resentment towards what some girl who’s pregnant might think about abortion or child birth? To me being liberal, independent, or conservative should have as much clout as using jam, jelly, or preserves in your pb&j it’s not fucking important. And no, I’m not down playing the stresses or consequences of issues such as abortion. I’m only asking what all the endless debates have accomplished. We’re allowed to think differently. And yes, we’re allowed to express it. I’m only suggesting we attempt to stop all the hate. Entire countries and states are becoming irate over news that is fake. We don’t have to allow the government to create these illusions or dictate the confusion through their oral pollution all because they state nonsense with a straight look on their face. Hear me out. I think there’s a reason they silenced the letter ‘K’ in the word ‘Know’. To make us think ‘Now’ is when we have to figure it out. That’s not true. If they can quiet the ‘K’ we can erase the ‘W’. ‘Now’ becomes ‘No’ as in no mother fucker we will not remain under you. No longer will we be suppressed or falsely impressed with your staggering ability to digress our nature back to men in their caves. No. We will no longer blindly behave as if we were your children. We’re not. You’ve fathered nothing but rage while Mother Nature has taught us to evolve and to change. And we have. Having all the answers and being right is not all it’s chalked up to be. Living life with love and understanding brings balance and harmony. So go on. Ask me why gravity doesn't turn all clouds into fog. Ask me what colors are duller in the eyes of a dog. Ask me about the heavens, the cosmos, the gods. Ask me if it matters to whom, how, or if we pray. Ask me if there’s life after life or just endless gray. Ask me when mankind will find it high time to turn from its ways. I don’t know. I just don’t. But I know that’s okay.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Youri Joseph

just a kid who thinks in ink and speaks in rhyme

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.