Poets logo

'I'd Rather Keep The Bullet This Time'

For my own sake.

By jenna j Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
'I'd Rather Keep The Bullet This Time'
Photo by Marc Schaefer on Unsplash

You pulled the trigger on us,

this so-called us,

2 days after our one-year anniversary.

A year of what I made the sad mistake of disguising absolute hell for pure heaven.

It was inevitable, the gun had been loaded,

round after round.

It was my mistake, assuming I would never have to feel completely alone again.

But oh did I have my hopes up,

knowing in the back of my mind they would eventually plummet,

and indeed they did.

I am realizing now, how much I loved a version of you.

A version that only appeared once in a blue moon, through appreciation, and once in a while equal effort.

A version that only truly appeared in the first few weeks of this so-called us.

A version of you that was my best friend 2 years ago.

So I will sit in my solitude and I will grieve a person who isn't dead, but dead to me.

Although, I would rather keep the bullet this time.

jenna

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

jenna j

random little things from time to time :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.