Poets logo

I Come From the Land of Twilight

A Story in Haikus

By Stephanie HoogstadPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
14
I Come From the Land of Twilight
Photo by Josh Felise on Unsplash

I come from the land

Of twilight; I lost my way

A long time ago

*

I was a young girl

With bright eyes and sallow face

And long, wheat-like hair

*

Most spectacular

To all those who observed me:

My pale, verdant skin

*

They examined me

And prodded me, put me on

Display for their joy

*

They did not care what

Their shows did to me. I just

Wanted to go home

*

Then day after day

Year after year, my skin

Lost its greenish hue

*

I grew more like them

Learned to read and write like them

‘Til I was no more

*

They lost their joy in

Looking at me, watching me

I lost my joy, too.

***

Author’s Note: This poem is based on a supposedly true story of a green-skinned girl and boy found in the village of Woolpit in England during the 12th century. You can read more about it here:

Haikusurreal poetrysocial commentary
14

About the Creator

Stephanie Hoogstad

With a BA in English and MSc in Creative Writing, writing is my life. I have edited and ghost written for years with some published stories and poems of my own.

Learn more about me: thewritersscrapbin.com

Support my writing: Patreon

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    I have a story about these children in my drafts. It's been there nearly as long as I've been here... It might stay there forever, no way I can top this!

  • Judey Kalchik 3 months ago

    Gina took care of the commenter. I don’t know if you are on Discord - I reported if there. We all have your back. Please reach out if anything else like that should happen again

  • Great words

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    So interesting! Great Haiku reflections

  • Oh wow, I've never heard of this Green Children story! I wish there were cameras back then so we'd know for sure how much of this is true. Loved your set of Haikus!

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Great haikus tell the story. I never heard of these children. Thanks for sharing.

  • Caroline Jane3 months ago

    ❤️ the curse and blessing of difference. You told the story very well. ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.