Poets logo

I Choose Peace

The fight has been lost

By Colleen Millsteed Published 11 months ago 1 min read
10

I don’t expect to see you again,

As I’m choosing peace over your betrayal,

You’ve made your bed, now lie in it,

I hope it causes you no regret once you’re old and frail.

***

Give me the time and space that I now need,

To grieve for this monumental loss,

Don’t fret, I’m confident I’ll be just fine,

As I accept the end of this relationship you toss.

***

Time heals all wounds,

But to be effective, please gift me with your silence,

Don’t hold out a hand or a false hope,

So I can let go of the old time reliance.

***

Our time has come to an end,

Much to my complete shock,

Traded in for a better model,

The unnecessary outcome of wedlock.

***

Tomorrow will be a little better,

The day after my strength may start to return,

Another week or two may see me smile once more,

As I overcome the grief of your disloyalty burn.

***

I’ve always been dangerous in my own way,

It’s my secret super power,

I can love you to death one day,

The next walk away in strength and willpower.

***

Our bridge has now been burnt,

And as much as I struggled to put out the fire,

I’ve now to accept our destiny,

Since you put me out to pasture to retire.

***

I’m done and dusted I’m afraid,

Better in peace on my own,

For once I’m truly going to be thankful,

That you’re hopeless with a phone.

***

I don’t expect to ever see you again,

So please, I beg, honour me now with silence forever more,

You’ll continue to live in my precious memory,

But in this relationship, we need to shut the door.

***

So long and best wishes,

My heart will be shuttered and locked,

Your heartlessness has won out,

And from this day forward you are forever blocked.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Image courtesy of the Author

Originally published on Medium

sad poetryheartbreak
10

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    “Don’t hold out a hand or a false hope” I couldn’t agree more. Lovely words from you. Thanks for sharing. 💛

  • Traded in for a better model, The unnecessary outcome of wedlock. These lines were a punch in my gut. To know we've been replaced it so Devastating. Sending you lots of love and hugs! 🥺❤️

  • Money insighter11 months ago

    I just wondered how much you are earning through vocal

  • Julia Schulz11 months ago

    Well-written,

  • sleepy drafts11 months ago

    Beautifully and poignantly written. I'm glad you chose your peace. ❤️

  • When there is nothing more to be said, one walks away wounded, the other both guilty & with wounds of their own making.

  • I choose peace also!!! Colleen this is a masterwork... Spectacularly written. The last line just tore my gut out. I really felt it's impact.

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Brilliant, bold, and beautifully written!!! Raw & courageous loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.