Poets logo

I Can Hear You Call Me 'Momma'

An ode to my unborn child

By Crystal A. WolfePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - June 2022
22
Photo by João Paulo de Souza Oliveira from Pexels

For the longest time,

I dreamt of your red hair and blue eyes,

and the sound of your voice calling to me,

“Momma!”

.

Your voice is music to my ears.

The strings of my heart are plucked

imagining the sound of your giggles.

I already love you so much.

.

You would have a heart of gold like your father,

but you’d have the strength of your mother.

People love to be around you,

despite the little bit of stubbornness you inherited.

.

I want to swing you in the air,

and tuck you in at night.

What I would give to kiss you on the forehead,

and wipe your eyes when you cry.

.

Daydreaming of you brings me comfort,

then reality sets in.

Suddenly, I realize the day will never come

when I would see my son or daughter.

.

For many years,

we wondered why we could not become parents.

Was I being punished?

Why could others get pregnant, but I cannot?

.

Standing in front of the mirror,

I poke my stomach out imagining how big you’d grow.

Now, when I see my reflection and rub my belly,

I know you will never exist.

.

I felt you grow there once,

but never again.

“You will never have children, Mrs. Walker,”

the doctors told me.

.

I shouted, screamed, wept,

and trembled from the news.

“This is so unfair,”

was all I was able to mutter.

.

Slowly, I healed and found ways to cope without you.

I started to accept that I will never be called ‘Momma’.

Then, out of the blue, you changed my world all over again.

“You are pregnant, Mrs. Walker.”

.

How can this be?

I was told I would never have children.

We have tried for several years to have you,

and now I may have the chance to hear you call me ‘Momma’.

.

Your name was chosen years ago,

and I knew in my first year of marriage what your nursery would look like.

I’d hold you close little James or Ava,

and I’m never going to let you go.

.

For a brief time,

I saw you with me in my reflection.

You gave me peace and completion.

I’m going to be your momma.

.

For weeks, you caused me to double over,

I sweated from the pain,

and my heart sank knowing,

“Something is not right.”

.

“Congratulations,”

the nurses would say each check-up.

I responded with thanks for the praises,

but doubt lingered on my tongue wondering what you were doing to me.

.

“The fetus is killing you, Mrs. Walker,”

the doctor explained.

Please, tell me this is not happening.

I waited so long for you.

.

I was rushed into surgery,

your father at my side.

Stroking my hair, comforting me, keeping his composure, despite hearing,

“Your wife will die if we do not do this.”

.

Heavy my eyes became.

The sedative slowly rocking me to sleep,

but not before imagining your sweet voice whisper to me,

“Momma.”

.

Waking up, I felt empty.

A piece of my heart was missing.

Those days when I would smile imagining a Mother’s Day,

or seeing a rainbow you drew for me, will never arrive.

.

I will never know if you were a boy or a girl,

but I watched my dreams of you fade away.

I will never see you take your first steps

or will see you off to college.

.

My eyes crept open and I swear I heard you say,

“Goodbye, Momma.”

I reached out to your innocent voice desperately wanting to hold you.

Please, come back.

.

Your father held my palm on his cheek,

his tear slid down my fingers.

Slowly, I woke up to my reality,

“It’s okay now, My Love. I’m here. Everything is going to be alright.”

.

I thought I was going to be a mother.

The thought of you completed me,

comforted me,

and wanted me to be a better person.

.

The day may never arrive when I can hold you,

take pictures of you,

or watch you sleep.

All I have is my imagination of you.

.

I heard your voice before.

You called me ‘Momma’.

If you can also hear me,

hear me say, “I love you.”

.

Disclaimer - The original version of this poem was published on another platform.

sad poetry
22

About the Creator

Crystal A. Wolfe

Blogger | Creative Writer | Traveler | Full-Time RVer

You can find all of my articles on my blog as well on Medium where I'm most active in Humor, Lifestyle, and Travel. I've self-published one fantasy fiction with the sequel in the works.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Emily Dickerson2 years ago

    Keep praying and God will bless you with the miracle you so long to have! As pretty as James and Ava are for names, maybe look into the biblical name Isaac :) God bless you

  • Lace Cole2 years ago

    i love this. very real. very powerful. i can’t imagine going through something like this. thank you for sharing.

  • Joe Patterson2 years ago

    I’m utterly speechless and heavy hearted reading this, you are an AMAZING WRITER.

  • Michael Critzer2 years ago

    This is powerful. You took a topic that some writers fall into cliche with, and you made it fresh and profound!

  • Kim Brewer2 years ago

    I felt every word of this.

  • What a roller coaster of emotions :'( beautifully put, though.

  • Emelia Beam2 years ago

    Love to you❤️ wishing you healing all the best

  • Joan Gershman2 years ago

    I am so so sorry for your loss. I know how it feels to come home empty, but I was lucky enough to have a full-term pregnancy the following year. Your writing is exquisite.

  • Jason A2 years ago

    So deeply emotional and as a man I cannot know how this feels but I truly sympathize with you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.