Poets logo

I Burned It

On letting go and moving on.

By Caylie HausmanPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I burned

the photograph

of us.

Not because

I am bitter.

No!

You were;

everything

I could’ve asked for.

WE were everything

I could’ve asked for.

But,

I knew

it was time

to let go.

I ceremoniously

scribbled

on the back

I don’t recall,

now,

what it said

But it was something

along the lines

of

It is okay

to let go

he is not yours anymore

The ceremony went

on and I hoped

for us to dissolve into the stars

at the cap of your brain,

the one that shelters

your love; I burned it

as if you would

feel the release.

I watched it burn

feel the gasses

swirl

in the brain.

I

burned

it

from the corner,

to the inside

until I could no longer hold it

In My Hand.

It was too hot

and it went, so fast.

I felt lighter,

and I cried, the first

happy tears.

I forget about the power

that moment

filled me up with

The Power

that is

all Mine.

I remember it again,

slowly but surely

I sink back into

the seat of Power

alone,

and I am Okay.

Because I know

it was not you, my darling,

that I am supposed to keep,

It

Is

Me.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Caylie Hausman

Caylie Hausman is a multidisciplinary artist, designer and writer based in the U.S. Contact [email protected] for more information. Thank you for reading!

IG and TT: @cayliehausman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.