Poets logo

2015-2020

a poem about time

By Caylie HausmanPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
collage by Caylie Hausman

Do you ever feel

impossibly jolted

into the future?

As if one day

you are 8, and you only remember

riding the bus and snacks when you’re home

and the next day

you are 25

and you only remember living as you do now:

without boundaries

without parents

without keepers.

Somedays,

without encouragers.

but nevertheless,

You persist on.

and you wonder, will you wake up

Tomorrow, age 50?

Wondering where the time has gone?

What it meant?

Who was there?

I don’t mean

to be

…that person

But

I seemingly, am,

That person.

Sitting and wondering

what aging means

and how time plays mind tricks.

It moves not at all..

and then,

all at once.

The only time thief

is time itself,

which is why

I can’t believe

we would ever

wish it away

for a concert

for a date,

For Anything.

But we do!

and even I catch myself

“If only it were..”

And slowly I have begun living in

Reverse.

Reverse,

And slowly I have begun living in

“If only it were…”

Even I catch myself.

But we do–

For Anything,

For a date,

For a concert,

Wish it away–

We would ever?

I can’t believe!

Which is why

Is time itself,

The only time thief?

All at once,

And then,

It moves not at all.

And how time plays mind tricks.

What aging means,

Sitting, and, wondering..

That person..

Is seemingly, me..

But…

That person..

To be.. that person..

I don’t mean to be..

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Caylie Hausman

Caylie Hausman is a multidisciplinary artist, designer and writer based in the U.S. Contact [email protected] for more information. Thank you for reading!

IG and TT: @cayliehausman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.