Poets logo

I Broke a Cycle

And you can, too.

By Melissa SteussyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
I Broke a Cycle
Photo by Katie Emslie on Unsplash

I’m a 45-year-old woman whose kids have never seen her drink. They have never seen her fall off her chair or down the stairs. They have never had to rescue her after a night at the bar or intervene while she got in a drunken brawl with some stranger.

My kids have never seen me hungover or inebriated in any fashion.

I have been sober since before they were born.

In fact, I was 8 months sober when I found out I was expecting, 23 years ago.

I grew up with all the drunken rage I could handle and knew it had to end with me.

I had to be the cycle breaker I felt a call, a tug.

I wanted to rise up and say, “this ends with me.”

I did it.

I broke the cycle of addiction and alcoholism, mental illness, and suicide.

I broke the cycle of fistfights and 911 calls.

I broke the cycle of darkness and terror.

I broke the cycle of lost respect and slurred lies.

I broke the cycle of codependency and bitter resentments.

I broke the cycle of a puff of smoke pouring out of my mouth at every sentence.

I broke the cycle of a smoky haze for a living room.

I broke the cycle of, “we can’t afford it” while I guzzle my gallon of wine.

I broke the cycle of incarceration, institutions, and death.

I broke the cycle.

I continue to break the cycle of generational trauma and peel back the layers that were slathered into my DNA.

I continue to take steps forward to dig myself out of the early grave I was supposed to land in.

I walk forward each day and not backward. I keep my eyes ahead, too scared to stop moving.

I watch my back for the perpetrator, always trying to pull me back.

I keep my eye on the prize.

A life I don’t need to escape from.

Apologies I don’t need to make.

Shame I don’t need to feel.

Regret that doesn’t plague me.

I broke a cycle.

social commentary
4

About the Creator

Melissa Steussy

Author of Let Your Privates Breathe-Breaking the Cycle of Addiction and Family Dysfunction. Available at The Black Hat Press:

https://www.theblackhatpress.com/bookshop/p/let-your-privates-breathe

https://www.instagram.com/melsteussy/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.