Poets logo

I am Not an Artist

That’s who I am

By Karlie Steadman Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
I am Not an Artist
Photo by Mike Petrucci on Unsplash

I am not an artist.

If I were to transfer a self portrait into words,

It would be

A shadow in the dark,

Slinking around every corner,

And devouring the walls,

Desperate for a way out.

Calling out names,

But no one can hear.

A leaf in the wind.

So common,

No one notices it until it’s dried up

On the sidewalk,

Along with the others.

Then it’s swept away, never to be seen

Never given a second thought.

A distant storm.

Meandering its way through time.

A tremendous rage building within the clouds.

Destined to detonate upon everything in its path.

Then shortly forgotten as the sun regains its strength.

So who am I?

I am not an artist.

That’s who I am.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Karlie Steadman

Hello friends! I’m Kar, and I’m 25 years old currently residing in Delaware. Welcome to the workings of my mind and healing of my inner child. Perhaps you can relate while I’m on my journey to self discovery✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.