Poets logo

The Colors of My Room II

Inhale, exhale

By Karlie Steadman Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The Colors of My Room II
Photo by Akshay Chauhan on Unsplash

I sat silently on the rocks by the river while soft waves turned pebbles and debris in and out,

washing over my toes and then fading away again.

Leaving behind only the residue of something that was once there.

I thought about how everyone had wanted to save me since I was young,

first my parents,

teachers in school,

the unyielding kindness of friends,

and then lovers who thought I needed to be fixed.

As if it were as easy as fixing the broken storm windows of my childhood room.

And while I appreciated their tired efforts,

it was I who ended up being the hero of this story.

Out of the darkest ashes,

I rose.

I won my life back from the grips of the reaper, who was always consciously looking over my shoulder.

The sun shines again in the field of flowers within my mind.

And it was only after the battle, that I truly met you.

A love that feels like home.

A love that brings me back to a memory of childhood,

watching the sunlight cast colors through the trees,

and then settling on me.

Inhale,

Exhale,

Breathing in tune with you

inside the colors of my room.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Karlie Steadman

Hello friends! I’m Kar, and I’m 25 years old currently residing in Delaware. Welcome to the workings of my mind and healing of my inner child. Perhaps you can relate while I’m on my journey to self discovery✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.