Poets logo

I Am Marriage

60th Anniversary

By Janel TuftsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am marriage.

I am many things to many people.

My definition has changed as decades past,

And it seems today I rarely last.

Many people say good-bye,

Before their vows, “until we die…”

To see a love like yours survive,

Gives hope to all and keeps me alive.

I have seen it all though the years,

Blooming love, new life appears.

Joy, tenderness, and elation,

The hope, the dreams, the anticipation…

As newness ebbs and life sets in,

Struggles are there, again and again.

The ups and downs and constant motion,

So much so, it’s like the ocean.

Injuries heal and illnesses pass,

Memories are made in your looking glass.

Good times come and bad times too,

How you focus is up to you.

Children, work, financial burdens…

At times, there’s just no herdin’,

The overwhelming highs and lows

That seem to keep you on your toes.

I’ve seen with you, compassion and caring,

Simple things, is that so daring?

Forgiveness and kindness, loving compromise

These are qualities of no small size.

To give of yourself in so many ways,

Just to see a smile, singing of praise.

Effort and time, it takes devotion.

You two exemplify this with such emotion.

I smile upon you, 60 years of commitment.

Not to mention, 60 plus years of love to go with it.

Inspiration to all, is what you’ve been,

Impacting the lives of your family and friends.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Janel Tufts

My love of writing was sparked when I won a Young Authors’ competition in 2nd grade. Raised in remote areas of Wyoming and Alaska, without many friends, I spent my spare time reading books. I hope you can relate and find joy in my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.