Poets logo

A Message From Mother Earth

Wake Up!

By Janel TuftsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Can you smell the smoke of the fires burning?

Or hear the sounds of your people yearning?

I hear their prayers, the same as before,

Begging for the sovereignty of promises you swore.

The steady beat of their drumming

And the sweet sound of humanity humming.

Broken by a sudden flash,

Of guns and cannons as they pass.

Have you learned nothing from events of the past?

I fear not, for you still hold the cast.

I breathe the breath of winter airs,

They stand there freezing, with deep stares.

The man-made snake is on its way,

To take my blood, for good they say.

You shaved the trees from my land,

In order to shake another’s hand.

Your heart, I see, is full of greed,

Clouding your judgment with its seed.

Consequences will soon be pending,

As you bleed my life, it’s near the ending.

I once provided for all your needs,

But what have you shown me by your deeds?

Self-centered righteousness and contempt,

Anger and violence, are messages sent.

For bigger and better is all you care,

Financial gains, concerns you bear.

The value of the masses, no longer matter;

When profits decide, communities shatter.

Few are left standing

On an unstable landing,

When those you’ve left to struggle and die,

See through the fog of your grandest lie.

I cannot support the quantities you take,

Soon my crust will begin to shake.

The empires you’ve so decisively built,

Are constructed on foundations, destines to tilt.

I send you the voices of the humble and weak,

They’re coming together, no longer so meek.

They see what you’re doing,

And are no longer stewing,

Heard will be the voices,

You have one of two choices,

Listen to their cries,

Before humanity dies.

Or an end to this world, I will soon bring;

Destruction to all like you’ve never seen.

Yours truly,

Mother Earth

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Janel Tufts

My love of writing was sparked when I won a Young Authors’ competition in 2nd grade. Raised in remote areas of Wyoming and Alaska, without many friends, I spent my spare time reading books. I hope you can relate and find joy in my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.