Poets logo

I am loved

A poem on comfort.

By Martins AbuahPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
I am loved
Photo by Alvin Mahmudov on Unsplash

I love it when he calls me Lollita. He is always rolling his tongue like Lolly, Lollylly, my Lollita. It always makes me feel good, too good. Even when he missed my calls yesterday night when I wanted to see him.

“Lollylly.”

“Leave me alone, boy.”

“Light of my life. Lollita, fire of my loins, stop frowning now, put a smile on your beautiful face. You know your smile fills me with joy.”

“Leave me alone boy, don't start with me today.”

“Lolly, Lollylly, my Lollita, my sin, my soul, guess what.”

“What?” I say, half curious, half “I’m not guessing, go away.”

“Lollita, show me your hand, smile joor.”

I give him. “What do you want with my hand, boy?”

He kisses it, then my forehead, then he clasps my cheeks and stares straight into my eyes, and my heart, I feel it melting, then I remember I wanted to see him. That’s why I called, that’s why I waited all night wondering if he was okay, why I opened my door. And when I saw him, my heart smiled. Not something so simple as a smile, it leaped. And I felt at ease, I felt welcome. I’m feeling welcome as I say:

“What took you so long, boy?”

“Why Lolly? Nothing ever takes my time from you. You chased me off, remember, yesterday morning. Just because I told you acted unfairly to me.”

I take his cheeks and squeeze them wide apart.

“You know something boy, you are a fool. I love you, and I never take you for granted. Don’t pull this again. Even when I shout at you, I don’t mean it, boy. I’m just.”

“I know Lolly, I understand. Come, give me a hug.”

And as I pull into his hands, I know I am home. I know that even if I’m falling from a star, he will catch me because he is my Donnie, my sweet boy.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Martins Abuah

I want to serenade you.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.