Poets logo

I am, Color

A Poem

By Kale RossPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
6

My olive skin provides me with ample

opportunities to exploit my white privilege.

Depending on the hue of the situation,

it's a superpower that allows me the ability

to portray any socially accepted image.

As a child, I kept stumbling into awkward situations,

unaware that my uniqueness was being falsely labeled

as a natural violation - so I began using foraged sticks

as magical wands to summon somber rain clouds

in desperate attempts to wash away my

human pigmentation.

As an adolescent, my evolving society

introduced my incandescent brain

to pleasant antidepressants.

Teaching me valuable lessons on how

to successfully suppress my intuitive questions.

As an adult, I have accepted the strange -

iridescent opal dimensions

of my multi-colored reflection.

I am a proud person of color,

and I refuse to be lessened

to the point of a lesson.

inspirationalsurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetryperformance poetryFree Verseart
6

About the Creator

Kale Ross

Author | Poet | Dog Dad | Nerd

Find my published poetry, and short story books here!

https://amzn.to/3tVtqa6

https://amzn.to/49qItsD

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoni Nima3 months ago

    Love this Kale, and I relate very much.

  • Rowan Finley 3 months ago

    You’re just a special person and I wish I could buy you a coffee, lol 😆

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    I love how you wove color references throughout the whole piece. Cleverly done and relatable.

  • ROCK 3 months ago

    My daughter's birthmother was olive, my ex was an olive with a heavy french accent. They "passed" until my daughter's hair began to curl, then her skin darkened. Everyone said stay out of the sun! I said, embrace your beauty. I like black olives!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.