Poets logo

I am but a Shadow

My place in the world is not a place at all.

By Verity GreenePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am but a shadow,

In a world of bright lights.

You may see me, you may be

Aware of a presence,

Aware of an anomaly,

Though you are never quite sure

If I am real or imaginary-

A dark spot at the edge of your eyesight.

My actions have no consequence

In the world surrounding-

Dream-like, I leave no identifiable mark-

A simulation; I end before I begin.

I may yell, like I may scream-

Shrill and desperate-

But can I be heard?

Can anyone hear me?

Please! Here my plea!

My voice may carry through the air

On an invisible wind current,

Travelling far and wide-

Yet in Limbo it remains.

I am but a shadow,

In a world of hidden corners and darkness,

I melt in with my surroundings,

Unable to break free-

To let myself be seen.

Try as I might,

I am smaller than a grain of sand,

No larger than a bacteria.

My imprint is left but for a second

Before it vanishes into the ether.

Forgotten before I am remembered.

I am,

Yet I am not.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Verity Greene

I love writing dark fantasy/ imagery poetry.

instagram.com/flawed.changeling

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.