Poets logo

I am blind

But then I saw

By Josephine MasonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
11
I am blind
Photo by Alexandre Debiève on Unsplash

Being born blind I thought was a curse

A curse with benefits but still a curse

Only darkness I saw

No colors no shapes

Hearing and touch were my way to see

~

My fingers are my eyes

With them I can find every exquisite detail

All the beauty

As well as the ugly

~

People are like art

You can tell much about them

Just with a touch

This was how I knew a person's heart

~

Their beauty and compassion

Their hatred and vitriol

All of them laid bare at my fingertips

~

One day I met them

My fingers traced their face

With every brush of their skin

My breath was taken away

~

Their cool, their calm

Their passion, their fire

Laid out bare

For me to see

~

For the first time in my life

I felt like I could truly see

They had given me sight

Just to show me themselves

And I was awed at their beauty

~

I'm rather enjoying this whole love at first sight prompt challenge. Especially experimenting with different forms of sight. I hope you all enjoyed this poem. If you did then please heart, subscribe, and feel free to leave a tip. You can now also pledge 3 dollars a month to me and help support me as a creator. If you do, you get the benefit of having my stories at the top of your subscription feed anytime I post something new. Till next time.

love poems
11

About the Creator

Josephine Mason

I write because I'm always drifting off to other lands in my mind. Please subscribe, like, and if I'm doing well please tip. You can buy my first book now at the link below. Available on many ebook platforms. https://books2read.com/u/bQygdE

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.