Poets logo

Hypergraphia

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
4
Hypergraphia
Photo by Mark Rasmuson on Unsplash

“Cause every time we touch

I feel this static”

Okay, that’s enough Cascada

Maybe I should switch it to Mas que Nada

No, not the Mendes version

The original by Jorge Ben

It’s been so hard lately when you’re near me

I can’t help but write

Even when I should do anything else

Sometimes I feel like you’re the only one that hears me

Shouting into the void

To avoid the reality of where I am

Listlessly wandering this place

Seeing the commonly unknown faces

Every week we lose and gain a few

When will I join them

I have no idea

They say enjoy it

But how can I?

When she’s exhausted

And I’m haunted by where I could’ve been

Anywhere but here

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or become a pledged subscriber.

More from this author:

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhumorhow toheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart
4

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Lol, I actually sang your beginning and felt so attacked! Loved your poem!

  • "What could have been"s can be exhausting in & of themselves if we allow ourselves to indulge too much in them at the expense of what might yet be.

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    Jorge Ben Jor would be proud to read this!

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    This is great! funny coincidence is that I was planning on doing something about hypergraphia too!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.