Poets logo

Hunny Funnies

The places of laughter I luxuriate in...

By The Dani WriterPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
14
Hunny Funnies
Photo by Dylan Posso on Unsplash

I love me when I am laughing.

Unhinged from every worrisome thought.

Uncontrolled giggles

seeping in spaces

soaking soul

as body follows without question.

Corporeal flesh as ha-ha exponent

fused to unknown source of comedic gold

that recycles

shimmers riotous full on its own endlessness.

*

I love you when you are laughing.

Caught by unexpected cackles

that make orange juice snort out your nose

dragon-like fiery funny spray

as silent tremors overtake you

decorum dead

head down

hands barely on table

gasping at air

hilarity doesn’t require to continue.

A classic case of toddler sniggers contagion

infectious and impossible to ignore.

Expands galaxy-like.

Billions of other objects to collide with

yet mysteriously misses.

The glory show on your face

reflects channeled light

from those who got the joke

before you and after you

in perpetual stitches.

*

I love us when we are laughing.

A circle of raucous shrieks.

Eyes water from joyous exertion

and gut-busting diaphragmatic glee.

Internal pressures force a cacophony of chortles

that mimic howling coyotes with power to reach the moon

or at least our neighbors

have everyone else pine for pleasures,

check us out

still doubled over

in uninterrupted ebullience snickers

and about to pee our pants

rolling on the floor

with whoops and hollers splitting our sides

and

being so nonplussed about it.

Want to spend the rest of my life this way

as a gift of the best medicine

over toughest times

not one thing artificial.

Just life high on easy laughter

that looks exactly

like the familiar fuzzy love

it truly is.

Photo by Cottonbro on Pexels

I really appreciate that you read my poem! If you'd like to see more of my work, please check below.

If you enjoyed this or any of my other work, feel free to like, subscribe, tip, pledge, and/or share with friends and social media sites. If you wish to promote in other forums, you can secure permission @thedaniwriter

love poemsinspirational
14

About the Creator

The Dani Writer

Explores words to create worlds with poetry, nonfiction, and fiction. Writes content that permeates then revises and edits the heck out of it. Interests: Freelance, consultations, networking, rulebook-ripping. UK-based

Medium

FB

Twitter

Insta

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Jonathan Townend2 years ago

    Beautiful poetry. As a past mental health nurse, I have to applaud you for your encouraging piece for laughter.

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    So very true, laughter is definitely not artificial . Laughter is comforting to all 🙂Nice

  • My beautiful lady, this right here is a winner! I couldn't stop smiling while reading this because it was so relatable. I cherish all the laughing memories as they are my favourites. I love laughing till my cheek hurts, my stomach about to burst and when I try to stop, I look at the other person and the laughter starts all over again. Lol! I truly miss laughing like this. Your poem helped me reminisce. Laughing is the best feeling there is. I loved this poem so much!

  • Grz Colm2 years ago

    Good one! Thanks for sharing! 😊

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Beautiful. Laughter is definitely a comfort

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    this is fantastic. my favourite lines "that mimic howling coyotes with power to reach the moon or at least our neighbors"

  • John Eva2 years ago

    This piece is so heartfelt and warm! I love some of the subtle symbolism, please keep writing!

  • This is my favorite challenge piece so far! Outstanding!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Yes!! One of my absolute favorite things to do is laugh and make other people laugh :) This just made me smile. Fantastic work!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Comforting the soul, laughter is the best medicine!!! Love your love and inspirational poem!!!💖💕

  • Such feel good moments

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.