Poets logo

Humans Are A judgemental Race

Guilty as charged, but I’m trying to do better

By Colleen Millsteed Published about a year ago 2 min read
Top Story - December 2022
27
Image courtesy of Pixabay

She falls and trips down the walkway,

Stumbling and staggering from all she drank,

I hear her loud laughter as I pass her by,

Thinking to myself, she’s overfilled her tank.

***

She attempts to sit on the nearest bar stool,

Misses and falls to the ground,

She laughs it off, staggers to her feet,

Manages to sit this time, as she orders another round.

***

She talks without taking a breath,

Not that she’s easy to understand,

Mumbling one minute, yelling the next,

Holding the bar, knowing she can no longer stand.

***

She mentions something inappropriate,

Not realising the pain she could possibly cause,

Repeating herself over and over again,

Without taking a breath or even a pause.

***

I walk away shaking my head,

Has she no control, no shame,

When she wakes with a pounding head,

She’ll only have herself to blame.

***

I later see her bent over a garden bed,

Emptying her stomach of the excessive alcohol,

Her body smarter than her control,

When suddenly her partner realises she’s gone awol.

***

The next day we laugh at her expense,

Knowing she’ll have no memory of the night,

She’ll hang her head in shame,

Shy, apologetic, contrite.

***

I next see her six months later,

Another drink held in her hand,

It’s early on as she talks coherently,

And smiles at her loving man.

***

We later got to talking,

She’d run out of drink,

Only bringing enough to be social,

Making us all stop and rethink.

***

In a quiet moment,

When we were hidden from sight,

She explains to me her anxiety,

And how she’s not the woman I met that night.

***

She tells me how she struggles with crowds,

Either hiding away somewhere alone,

Or so drunk she’s everyone’s best friend,

As she feels like an outcast, it’s all she’s ever known.

***

My heart breaks for this poor soul,

Who is so much more like me,

As I don’t fit in that environment either,

And we both feel like we’re a nobody.

***

I understand where she’s coming from,

And wish I’d been less judgemental last time we met,

It’s a horrid situation to be in,

And we proved she had reason to fret.

***

We really do need to remember,

We don’t know another’s story,

Be gentle of heart, empathetic,

Before we condemn others to purgatory!

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

social commentarysad poetryinspirationalheartbreak
27

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Angelina F. Thomasabout a year ago

    Awesome work keep on keeping on work work work

  • P. K. Ganiabout a year ago

    A very important message articulated beautifully.

  • Jollyoddbod Poetryabout a year ago

    'Humans Are A Judgemental Race' is piece of art Colleen. The message, the tone and the pace - perfect! Thank you for sharing this with our community.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Awesome work ❄️❤️

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Wonderful work! Congratulations on Top Story! :)

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    gorgeous work Colleen! I love the message!!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Excellent work with such good reminders! Congrats on the Top Story :)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Wow. this is Fabulous. Congrats on the Top Story.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Been there - and yes, we are! Shamefully so at times. Congrats on your Top Story! :)

  • Excellent as always and congratulations on your Top Story

  • Omggg this!!!! Sometimes I'm judgemental too but now I'm learning to always give people the benefit of doubt. Because we don't know their story. I'm so glad you wrote this. It's a very good wake up call

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.