Poets logo

how to wilt

by Heather Hedera

By as told by heather 👩🏽‍🦰Published 3 years ago 1 min read

Every time he comes around

I hold my head a bit higher

I make my lips a bit wetter

I arch my back a bit more than the week before

I call this stage “yearning”

Feeling it in my pit

Letting the fiend in me find her light

Letting fire and wind take my spirit with them When he leaves

Needing it

I call this “curbing my appetite”

Letting the excess out in puddles on his street

Letting go of the figments in my recesses

That frame him as a sustenance or

Something good to eat

This is “self-courting”

Learning to meet myself on common ground

Learning to hold my head above the water

Breathing for the very first time

In years

Releasing a heartbreak’s cycle-worth of tears from my system

Replenishing

Root to stem

Stem to pistil

We’re still growing

performance poetry

About the Creator

as told by heather 👩🏽‍🦰

Passion is my profession. My soul’s desires leak from me through music and poetry...Wanna hear?

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    as told by heather 👩🏽‍🦰Written by as told by heather 👩🏽‍🦰

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.