Poets logo

How to succeed in heartbreak

Inspired by Victoria Morgan

By Kiesha’s DiaryPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
3

i attempted to succeed in heartbreak without even trying

so tired of self-help tips and friendly pick-me-ups

once i got there, that was just the foundation

the process of letting go of that special relation

erasing all of the memories from my brain

gathering up all of the chinks in my chain

fastening them together to make chain mail

inhale, one… two… three, exhale

ride him in to a battle

tearing down our castle

taking his name, the one that still hurts to say, using it as a war cry

then i actually cry, because there is nothing shameful about clearing my eyes

i do not pick myself up

i do not try to be okay

because heartbreak is not about being okay

it is about remembering that i was okay before

it is about taking all of my broken pieces and rebuilding that castle

no one succeeds at heartbreak

isn’t that the truth

but one day, i will cry myself a fountain of youth

i drank up bottles and bottles and bottles,

pretending their mouths belonged to someone else

but I am done feeling sorry for myself.

because why apologise for loving until you burst?

my capacity to feel needs no pardon

my heart needs no mending

i am not broken, i am just a little more explosive

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Kiesha’s Diary

𝚠𝚎𝚕𝚌𝚘𝚖𝚎 𝚝𝚘 𝚖𝚢 𝚠𝚘𝚛𝚕𝚍. 𝚠𝚑𝚎𝚛𝚎 𝚠𝚎 𝚊𝚛𝚎 𝚝𝚑𝚎 𝚌𝚑𝚒𝚕𝚍𝚛𝚎𝚗 𝚘𝚏 𝚝𝚑𝚎 𝚞𝚗𝚒𝚟𝚎𝚛𝚜𝚎. 𝚗𝚘 𝚕𝚎𝚜𝚜 𝚝𝚑𝚊𝚗 𝚝𝚑𝚎 𝚝𝚛𝚎𝚎𝚜 𝚘𝚛 𝚝𝚑𝚎 𝚜𝚝𝚊𝚛𝚜. 𝚠𝚎 𝚑𝚊𝚟𝚎 𝚊 𝚛𝚒𝚐𝚑𝚝 𝚝𝚘 𝚋𝚎 𝚑𝚎𝚛𝚎 ❀

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.