Poets logo

How To Stay Wild

Notes From A Saturn Return

By Sophie ColettePublished 10 months ago 2 min read
2
How To Stay Wild
Photo by Stormseeker on Unsplash

On the way home from work, my fingers itch.

I am trying not to call you. I know

that if I do, you’ll answer on the second ring,

eager and soft.

And darling, to be candid:

I want better for us both.

In the cool dusk of the ride back to my silent apartment,

my eyes prickle with unshed heat.

I tell my therapist that I will never again

take a lover who does not celebrate everything wild in me,

who fails to put their faith in my feral.

I tell my mother that I tried my best with you.

That you stopped growing with me, somewhere in the freeze

of our last desperate winter,

started to choke the wild

right out of me.

I don't mean violence here.

Rather,

I tell my best friend that it was as though

you’d wanted my edges blurred.

Like the spill of ink on my shoulders and the scent of summer lightning in my hair

was suddenly too potent – distasteful, even. (In contrast: the night you first laid your hands in awe upon me;

told me you’d been looking for me

since as long as you could remember.

Only magic until I'm acquired.)

On the way home from work, I give myself exactly one love song,

one that I know will make me think of you, and probably cry

more than a little.

The way I hold the warm leather of the steering wheel changes. The way

you used to hold me

is becoming a memory.

And the grief I feel climbs into my throat,

cloven-footed,

and I let it –

I invite it in: here,

take my last thin strand of breath,

render me sharp and blind.

I am no mother,

no wife; nothing soft or preordained.

The harsh beat of the reminder: you were never built

for cowards.

The apartment is still standing, somehow.

There’s no real emergency. The death of you and I

felt serrated, an attack,

but really,

it was liberation

however bloody,

however rank the cauterized flesh.

I’m an animal newly escaped from the gentle deadly press of apathy,

limping but alive.

I stand in my kitchen, the cat winding around my ankles,

listening to the tap run, steel-padded, into the teapot. And I think:

Thank you for this freshly broken heart.

Thank you for the empty bed,

for the microwaved dinner for one,

for the quiet breath of the last time you hung your head and told me

the truth,

for the years of magic rescued.

I will sleep tonight, a thick coat of elderberry tea on my tongue,

and wake to the mutter of the cat splayed content on your pillow;

maybe the only being here who’s known from the beginning

that you never really saw me.

love poemsheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Sophie Colette

She/her. Queer witchy tanguera writing about the loves of my life, old and new. Obsessed with functional analytic psychotherapy & art in service to revolution. Occasionally writing under the name Joanna Byrne.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Again, this is great. The painful liberation from a relationship. Favourite lines: you’d wanted my edges blurred. Like the spill of ink on my shoulders and the scent of summer lightning in my hair That sense of knowing who you are but knowing that that is no longer enough to that person or that they want to crush you. Horrible. I like that it ended strongly too.

  • Genie OooFuzzy10 months ago

    I love the parallel start to end my heart started cracking at' somewhere in the freeze/ of our last desperate winter,/ started to choke the wild/' and was whole by' played content on your pillow/' My only disagreement: 'i am no mother/ i am no wife' you may not have borne children through this world but you guide every one you see through it. You treat every relationship with the preciousness and significance of marriage. You are not made for cowards, correct. it takes the courage to watch the lion roar and roar back. in fact-actual lions never manage precise essential sometimes painful truth in the effective dose you mix on the spot. Id prefer to be eaten than taken apart, though it is consuming me now anyway. You see everyone as beautiful. you deserve to be seen, too.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.