Poets logo

How To Plan The Perfect Valentine’s Night

A List Poem Of Romantic Preparations

By DaphsamPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
9
Watercolor & Pen Illustration by Daphsam

1. The purple cotton candy sky has swallowed the sun.

2. The once slow ticking time, ticks loudly, whispering do not hasty.

3. There is a juggling job to do, and I must do it right.

4. I hurry to turn on the romantic piano melodies from the black speaker.

5. I dash to awaken the fire with a flip of a switch, gazing at the orange and sun kiss flames licking at the earthy stones.

6. I dart to the mahogany-filled dining room and pull out the shiny silver tray laid with antique lace dollies.

7. I hasten to grab the gold tin jar full of the finest caviar resting in the chill cabinet.

8. Adding a package of water crackers and a creme fraiche to complete the tantalizing treat.

9. I pour the chilled, zesty champagne into the elegant crystal flutes.

10. I get mesmerized by the bubbles, but only for a second or two.

11. I rip off the lid to display the sweet and decadent chocolates in the red velvet heart box.

12. I sniff the air that is full of scented sweet anticipation.

13. The rumble of tires echoes sounds of crunches against the gravel driveway.

14. I sprint back to the kitchen to pull out one hot pink rose and place it between my teeth.

15. With butterflies dancing in chest. One last look, I am ready.

16. I flee to the door to see my one true love standing happily at the door.

17. Greeting her with my rose and a warm lick on her hand.

18. Love radiates from my canine eyes to my heartfelt human; you will not be alone this Valentine's Day night.

love poemslisthumorhow toFree Verseart
9

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 3 months ago

    Oh!!! I love this!!! You did a great job with it.

  • I want to know how he handled all those preparations. Paws down, has to be the most intelligent dog since Lassie! Beautiful, sweet & charming.

  • Anna 3 months ago

    This was fun! Thanks for sharing!

  • BRAVO!!!!

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    No truer love in the universe!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.