Poets logo

How To Go Viral Elvis Style

Life’s too short for critical thought

By Reuben SalsaPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Photo by Michelle.Withyman — on Reshot

I’m the Elvis that refuses to leave / the rock-n-roller out to deceive / I’m the super-virus infection / the numbed reflection / the mass indigestion / of your viral flirtation / I’m more viral than a corona recycle / I’ve got more virus / in my finger / than that clown for a president stand-in ringer / I’m the super virus of viral / I shape the future with my retro booster / I’m a behemoth of a cut and paste job / I’m the noob without a past / a faker to the kingmaker / an historical reference too grand to be ignored /

No content is too big / for me to plunder /to relaunch as my own thunder / Viral video / cats swimming / a knock-off cult classic / to keep bright lights dimming / I shall be known as the man who launched a 1000 viruses / Each one infecting public / dilating irises / abnormal miosis / unknown thoughts sparking crisis.

What? / You tuned in to read what I had to say? / That would be too intellectually stimulating / now fuck off and go away.

Stop here / there’s more bland to come / more dodge than your auntie / the rip-off sales mum / Watchmen blinking in time / the slow tick tock / inexcusable deadlock / a swedish gridlock /

Move on if you’re looking for debate / or insights / This is low-brow content / not a gunfight / This is the 7 tips for 7 days / The 5 hacks that’ll set you free / The top 10 listicle to succeed / a life of fame, fortune and greed / The cheat-sheet for all Medium users / the vital hack for willing consumers / Just comment below how much you want in / how hard you can grin / cast no sin / on my SPAM network / built for you / No questioning here / just junk for the eyes / No bulging six pack / No reprise / It’s the recommended daily diet of fluff.

Lets continue dumbing down of every generation / The lack of any single citation / Don’t let the facts get in the way of your narration / Lets rejoice at every viral video influencing hacker / Lets praise with ‘great post’ that vegetative slacker.

Life is too short for critical thought.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reuben Salsa

Salsa is a fever dream. A whisper carried over the mountains. He’s an illusion. An idea that sways the masses. The grand Oz serenading us with messages of hope and despair in equal parts. Careful, he's itching for a fight.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.