Poets logo

How Is That?

A rondeau redouble for you and that is that!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
7
How Is That?
Photo by Camille Villanueva on Unsplash

A rondeau redoublé consists of six quatrains using two rhymes. The first quatrain consists of four refrain lines that are used, in sequence, as the last lines of the next four quatrains, and a phrase from the first refrain is repeated as a tail at the end of the final stanza. See Dorothy Parker’s “Rondeau Redoublé (and Scarcely Worth the Trouble at That). — Source Poetry Foundation

"You're like broken furniture!" How is that?

Your chest fell into your drawers, that's how.

The person who said this is such a brat!

Heard it from the chiropractor, just now.

~

We have to get used to taking a bow.

Hard to do isn't it, just act like a cat!

Independent critters, but not a sow!

"You're like broken furniture" How is that?

~

"Do you know what CRS is?" Now what?

That you can't remember shit, anyhow.

I remember when you sat on my hat.

Your chest fell into your drawers, that's how.

~

Do you remember talking to that cow?

It is my leg, due to where we all sat

And my chest did not fall, how dare he. Wow!

The person who said this is such a brat!

~

From how he talks, he just may be a rat!

Maybe we can get him to eat some chow.

Or else we could put him in with the bat!

Heard it from the chiropractor, just now.

~

I just don't believe we can just allow

these comments to go on without a chat!

I thought, how about a break? Couldn't thou?

If we have the chat it will happen stat!

Maybe you're like broken furniture?

~

P.S. Another vocal member suggested I try a rondeau redouble. I don't know if I got it but it was worth a try. My chiropractor is a nut and I had that visit today and he is always good for a quick story or joke! Dr. Steven Fideldy. I walked in limping and walked out without my walking stick!

humorhow tofact or fiction
7

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Lynda Spargur6 months ago

    How challenging was it to write? I like a good challenge but I fear this would give me a headache. Such a great job that you did, I'm scared that mine would pale in comparison.

  • Hahahahahaha this definitely made me chuckle! You did this so perfectly!

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Awesome!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.