Poets logo

How I Function Dysfunctionally.

Poetry

By Yoruichi Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Sometimes I feel high but most times I feel like shit. One day I would smile so hard my cheeks would hurt and I would laugh over stupid shit that didn't make sense. I would talk to my friends and engage in conversation.Then the next day I would hate myself for showing that vulnerable side of myself to others, the me that is carefree and laughs is who I love to be but I end up punishing myself for things that should come natural. I slice my legs and arms and scream telling myself I'm disgusting and don't deserve happiness because of what I let happen to me.

Everyone tells me it's not your fault let it go. But their voices haunt my dreams and simple phrases make me go into a frenzy if some one so much as whispers to me that I smell so good I freeze up my heart starts pounding my body starts shaking uncontrollably as I repeat over and over that I want to die I want to die I cry hysterically and sob like a bitch because what used to be a small itch has become an infection with no ointment and no cure.

then it stops.

I clean myself up look in the mirror in disgust of what I just did what I let happen. The bottle that capped my emotions so well, shattered like the hope that I once had when I was ten. Like the cloud of so called innocence that sheltered me from the world before it was torn to shreds by them. I can't help what I've become and how I cope but please I'm begging you don't count me out don't leave me for dead because this isn't the last of me I will heal just give me time while I'm learning the life lessons that were lost along the way. Because I'm not lost in this world just finding a different way to get home.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Yoruichi

Hey my name is Yvette.

Welcome 🌚🌝

Thanks for reading

Twitter : @yoruichi1218

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.