Poets logo

How did you know

He was the one?

By Nina PiercePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
How did you know
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

If this is it, I want to remember it.

Every small detail about our life together,

whether good or bad.

After that, for lack of a better term,

simple conversation,

I placed a cigarette between my teeth

and I could see his teeth shining

in the moonlight.

I was sad

or disappointed

or incomplete

whatever it is that I was.

Whatever it was I felt,

it was that our first kiss

wasn't what I had expected.

I know that for him, it was everything.

The perfect rom-com moment of being

“caught in the rain”, kissing each other like

it was the only thing you could do.

And when I drove away, I felt

like maybe it just wasn’t meant to be

no matter how terribly I want it to be.

It took me a few days to confess that I

felt that I was missing something.

His playful smile took me by surprise

as he took my

head between his hands

he leaned in

not caring that I just smoked.

I'll never understand how he

does that.

And that kiss, those three little kisses

were so easy to melt into.

That's how I knew.

I realized that we have to learn each other,

our likes and dislikes,

the quirks,

everything.

I felt like everything was going to be

okay.

So when our kids ask,

"Mom, how did you know Dad was the one?"

I'll tell them about how when

I want to talk,

when I feel like I'm

slipping through reality,

before I can even say

a word,

their father knows

what's eating me up.

I’ll tell them how their father stood by me

when I was at my lowest,

and pushed me to be the best version of myself.

I'll tell them about that kiss.

And that's how I knew.

love poems

About the Creator

Nina Pierce

just a lonely cat girl, pursuing a masters in counseling

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Nina PierceWritten by Nina Pierce

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.