Poets logo

How did we get here?

And how do I get out.

By IndaliaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
How did we get here?
Photo by J W on Unsplash

How did we get here?

How did I end up dating someone like you?

You are so closed minded.

Not to mention unreasonably stubborn.

You give me all the bad

And don’t give me any of the good anymore.

How did we get here?

How did I end up with someone who would stop trying?

You say just because you are still here means you haven’t given up.

But I’m not happy

Then you blame me for leaving

For taking my space

For having these memories

That you can’t replace

you are just making it worse.

holding on, while hating me,

We’ve been acting like people

we don’t want to be.

When I fell for you,

I thought you were a man.

One of the good ones I mean,

The kind to book the band.

Among the many things that troubled me,

One thing stood out the most…

The way you talked about your friends,

How you felt the need to boast.

Then there was your insistent lies,

About how you loved me the most.

I even knew it at the time,

But I still let you hold me close.

You always love to tell me,

That I’m the only one.

But why does he thinking I’m paranoid?

Is it something I’ve said or done?

The words keep ringing in my head,

“You are the only one.”

I can’t help but begin to think,

there is something else going on.

Now that I know you,

I understand what you want.

That same sick validation,

You just love to flaunt.

But one thing,

you still don’t understand,

Ill never give you that validation

I just don’t stand for that.

You say I don’t appreciate you,

Or what you bring to the table.

But I never asked for this,

And you say it’s a betrayal.

I see what you have to offer,

It just isn’t what matters to me.

We have very different values,

And we are getting caught in between.

I’m scared to let you go,

but it has to be done.

I have to move on from this,

and force myself to be alone.

Hopefully one day you understand.

I hope one day you heal.

Just know that Jesus loves you,

And prepares your every meal.

Don’t forget to thank him,

Don’t to get to pray,

I know he sees you in your pain,

Each and every day.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Indalia

Writing has been a passion of mine as long as I can remember because it allows me the freedom to explore my thoughts and gain perspectives that help guide me along the path of life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.