Poets logo

The Trance

or was it just a dance?

By IndaliaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Trance
Photo by Asdrubal luna on Unsplash

Mysterious beauty

in a swaying green dress.

Wherever she went,

She always left a mess.

Her lips were like scarlet

but her eyes whispered doom.

Each one without breath

As she pierced through the room.

When appeared before me,

I knew she was Sin.

She pulled on my collar,

and said, “let me in.”

I took her hand,

like I was in a trance.

And the next thing I remember,

We began to dance.

Her scent was like bubblegum

and her touch was just as sweet.

But as she gazed into my eyes,

my soul began to weep.

My body became paralyzed,

when she revealed herself to me.

“I haven't done you any favors,

but that's the way it had to be.”

Her grip grew tighter

as my sight dropped to the floor.

All this time I've been drowning,

But I don't have to anymore.

That’s when a voice grew inside me,

from deep within my soul.

Warm, and filled with light,

the kind that makes you whole.

What is this? I wondered,

I've never felt this way.

“Yes child, I know,

The Lord has changed you today.”

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Indalia

Writing has been a passion of mine as long as I can remember because it allows me the freedom to explore my thoughts and gain perspectives that help guide me along the path of life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.