Poets logo

Horror poem: the proposal

Serial lover

By Sam Desir-SpinelliPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Horror poem: the proposal
Photo by Sabrianna on Unsplash

Content warning: this poem is a horror-take on the “from across the room” love at first sight poetry challenge.

It contains disturbing themes including abduction and violence.

So now that you’re warned, here goes:

***

***

***

hello,

Wait dont try to get away

I said wait and what I mean is

stay

Look

At your hair

So soft and gold

It’s perfect. You are the perfect girl to have and to hold

I really have a thing for--

I mean--

Ever girl I’ve ever gone for

was a blonde.

And you’ve got green eyes.

You know that’s rare

A beautiful prize

… I can't help but stare

From the very first glance I think you must be the one

So listen and don’t make a peep ‘til I’m done:

You and I are going to spend some time together, and before you say nope

I really

really

really hope

that we can make this work

Because the last girl, and all the girls before her...

Well all they really had was the look....

and… when I proposed they stupidly said no.

And I was sad. Heart broken. Because…

… I was forced to let them go

STOP STRUGGLING YOU'RE ONLY GONNA MAKING THINGS WORSE!

If you'd only lie still, these ropes wouldn't even hurt.

So what we'll do is spend a few days together, maybe a week

And I’ll prove that I can be the love that you seek

And after I've wooed you, I'll give you this ring.

It was my mother's you know. Such a pretty thing

My dad bought it for her, then he left her alone

Isn’t that shitty? He never tried to atone

She was always so sad,

And when I look at her ring It just makes me so mad

But look how it shines, just agree to wear it and you'll always be mine!

It would make her so happy if she could see us together

She looked just like you, by the way

you could practically be my mother!

I PROMISE

If you say yes we’ll be together forever.

If you say yes I’ll never leave you alone at the altar

as long as you promise to always be true

As long as you really mean it when you say "I do"

But lets not rush things.

Just come home with me tonight. Spend a few days thinking

maybe a week

We'll finally find the future we need

STOP FUCKING FIGHTING

we're off to a bad start

STOP FUCKING FIGHTING

you're breaking my heart

Now look I've made this room just for you

now you’ll stay in there and fall in love with saying "I do"

***

***

***

I dedicate this poem to anyone who looks for a parent instead of a partner.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Sam Desir-Spinelli

I consider myself a "christian absurdist" and an anticapitalist-- also I'm part of a mixed race family.

I'll be writing: non fiction about what all that means.

I'll also be writing: fictional absurdism with a dose of horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.