Poets logo

Hope

I hope it's just a shy friend-

By Butler IPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Hope
Photo by Ron Smith on Unsplash

Hopefully just a shy friend-

She sits outside my prison.

With the cold eyes of the selfish

Observing the good and bad of my fate.

She was so cold from cowardice.

One depressing day, I looked through the bars

To see the face of my hope.

only to see her immediately turn her back!

Like a false watchman pretending to watch.

Hostile on the one hand and hinting at peace on the other.

When I wept she sang the words.

When I listened, she was silent.

She has a heart of stone and a false one.

When my last joys are scattered

Seeing this tragic relic scattered about

Even "sorrow" is regretted.

And hope, she could have whispered

To anoint the painful and frantic, -

But spreads her wings and flies away to heaven

And never returned, never to be seen again.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Butler I

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Butler IWritten by Butler I

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.