Poets logo

Homesickness

The truth we're all seeking

By Twenty Seven Lehngas Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

London

Born to a long night ‘neath star scattered skies

Framed by amber leaves and crescent moonshine;

I searched for belonging in spaces that felt

Overcrowded, among faces so different from mine.

Still, I called it home –

these grey skies and lush fields familiar enough for it to feel so.

But just as my heart felt that it forged a space

For itself in the crowd, it was whisked away

Riyadh

Finding itself between people who seemed

To be so alike, yet adverse, to me;

I rented my place in this new desert land

And settled myself upon shifting sand.

A decade I stayed in this Kingdom apart

From the world. This strangely hospitable mirage

whose incense and date palms I remember fondly

Are now just that – a fond memory.

Lahore

Uprooted from palm trees and Tudor rose shrubs

Life planted me next to fragrant gulab;

Cradled by nargis and kanwal ke phool*

It felt just a little too nice to be true

The City of Gardens was where I belonged –

At least for the summer, a whole 2 months long.

Monsoon quenched the heat, swept the flowers away

And with them, my welcome; I had overstayed.

Now, when I return, twist my key in the lock

Of an empty apartment, shed my coat, slowly walk

To the kitchen, make my own blend of tea

And here I had an epiphany –

While I tend to my cactus and lily and rose,

Pour into them love that they need to grow -

It dawns on me, so I smile, roll my eyes

At my naivete, and I realise:

What they all had in common, how hadn’t I known?

I make space for me; I’ve always been home.

*Gulab, nargis and kanwal ke phool are roses, narcissus and water lilies, respectively.

** Nargis and Kanwal are my maternal grandmother and mother’s names, respectively.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Twenty Seven Lehngas

Always a bridesmaid - and now you can be too! For when the white wedding advice doesn't cut it, I'm here to help you give your girl the support she needs on her special day without breaking the bank or your boundaries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.