Poets logo

Homeless?

A poem

By Chloë J.Published 2 years ago 1 min read
12
Homeless?
Photo by Marek Studzinski on Unsplash

Home is nebulous

Multifaceted. Unformed. Everywhere. Nowhere. A mirage in the desert, shifting, close then achingly far.

Sometimes I feel like a stranger in the land.

Foreign. Outsider. Unwanted. Unknown.

I have no roots, and it is not a romantic notion, it is the ugliness of isolation and the pain of desertion.

I am a cliché; I am surrounded by people and so remarkably alone. Wallflower on the edge, wildflower in a field of roses. I am a cliché and I am a thing that I hate.

Adrift, free, trapped. Homeless.

Homeless inside the four walls I have lived in for years now, my creature comforts don’t comfort the creature I’ve become.

I am a creature, yet I am not a bear in a trap. I have wings; better than that, I have a car and I can go, run seek

And find; the smile of my mother, a kiss from my dog, the laugh of my father and I am loved, seen, known again.

Home.

Home is a cramped hotel room on a family trip. Loud, small, safe.

Home is a bottle of wine shared with friends, and the drunkenness of exhaustion.

Home is a song in the car where I don’t know whether to scream or cry.

Home is an unexpected gift, that whispers I see you, I see you

Home is tea and a blanket and a book that envelops me

Home is a man with a thousand masks, changing and constant, always in reach, if I try.

Home is so many things, and I think how

lucky,

favored,

blessed

I am.

To be a wanderer with a thousand homes.

love poems
12

About the Creator

Chloë J.

Probably not as funny as I think I am

Insta @chloe_j_writes

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Testabout a year ago

    Man, this is cool🖤

  • Shaun Waltersabout a year ago

    It is amazing how much a “shout-out” by the Vocal Gods can do for you. Saw that poem and had to check out your other work. Beautifully done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.