Poets logo

'Twas the Night Before COVID

A poem

By Chloë J.Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1
'Twas the Night Before COVID
Photo by Chad Madden on Unsplash

Twas the night before COVID, and all through the nation

Citizens listened to misinformation

“Two weeks of a shutdown is all there will be,

Life soon will be normal, just you wait and see!”

The people all huddled, locked into their homes,

Very grateful for liquor, Netflix and cell phones.

But two weeks become soon three, four, five, and six,

“Not too much longer!” The CDC predicts.

Yet while TP has run out, right there with patience,

Americans begin to pay for complacence.

Some wore their masks, and some thought to forgo it,

At first, little was known about how it did transmit.

The death rates did rise, with fear rising quickly,

No one seemed safe from becoming quite sickly.

People found new hobbies, read books and watched movies,

Some even learned how to make good spinach smoothies.

They Zoomed into work, camera off, boss on mute,

So that they could focus on pets who were cute.

Some days almost seemed normal, when there was less panic,

About living through a worldwide pandemic.

Other days seemed like they came directly from

A thriller disease film starring Matt Damon

Days of uncertainty, terror and panic,

Fear became a monster that was quite gigantic.

Spring turned into summer, and summer to fall,

Children went back to school, mask mandated all.

Concerts were canceled, and games were postponed,

Cases rose and fell, while the people all groaned.

Fauci implored, “People, please put on your masks!

Stay home if your sick! That is all that I ask!

If we all do this, if we’re in it together,

I’m confident this deadly storm we may weather.

Our doctors will all soon release a vaccine,

Until then, stay inside, and keep your hands clean.”

In case you were wondering, if you did not know,

Over 5 million deaths have come from COVID, so

It is not a joke, though it never was funny,

I can’t speak of this topic and keep my tone sunny.

My own father got it, early in the New Year,

Nine days in the hospital; his case was severe.

But thanks to a miracle straight from God’s hand,

He pulled through, survived; a grim fate he did withstand.

Countless other fam’lies faced unspeakable loss,

The price of this virus is quite a steep cost.

Alpha, and Delta, and now Omicron,

It’s easy to fear variants will go on.

My friend said, “Well, I do not want the vaccine,

I’d like to have kids, and the science does seem

Like I am at risk of losing fertility.”

I answered, “Of having kids, the possibility,

Is nixed by one thing, just one” is what I said.

“You will not have kids if you do end up dead.”

She wasn’t too happy, but I do not regret

One thing that I said. I hope she won’t forget.

In just a handful of months, it is going to be

Two full years of COVID, it seems quite strange to me

How quickly, how rapidly time sure does fly,

When faced with sickness and trying not to die.

Humans are hardy. This sure isn’t the first

Disease we have handled, nor is it the worst.

Influenza, Black Death, Yellow Fever, Swine Flu,

A few examples of what humanity’s been through.

We’re adaptable, strong, we’ve been through enough,

When survivals concerned, us humans are tough.

Whether or not you have gotten the shot,

I hope you are open, that you are in fact not

Closed off to the prospect; the science is good.

There’s nothing to fear; I think there are those who would

Say the shot is worth it, I would like to survive

And this is my best shot of staying alive.

Wherever you are this fun holiday season,

I hope that you have many a reason

To celebrate; I know much has been taken,

May your foundations be ever unshaken.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Chloë J.

Probably not as funny as I think I am

Insta @chloe_j_writes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.