Poets logo

Home vs Detriment

Damn Baby, What's Your Birth Chart?

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Home vs Detriment
Photo by Josh Rangel on Unsplash

He didn’t just ask me

if I knew

my other sign placements

He said,

“Tell me.”

*

“Moon in Cancer,

Gemini rising,

and Venus in Libra.”

*

He told me his

*

“Moon in Capricorn,

Sagittarius rising,

and Venus in Aries”

*

Then he taught me

something I never knew

*

“All your signs are at home

and all mine are in detriment.”

*

I had no idea

what he was talking about

*

“Moon is ruled by Cancer

so when it's in Cancer it’s at home.”

“Capricorn is opposite of Cancer

and therefore is in detriment

when in the moon.”

*

He said that means

life is easier for me

and harder for him

in those areas

*

I questioned that,

“I got a lot of feelings

and I don’t mind expressing them,

but that makes people

in our kind of society uncomfortable.”

*

He laughed

because it makes sense

for a moon in Cancer

*

The man with the moon

in Capricorn said,

“I’ve been called cold

and emotionless before.”

“I’m very logic minded.”

*

I told him I can tell already

“I think it’s good to think logically,

and know how to be practical...”

*

He interjected,

“But some can take it too far.”

*

Right as I began to say,

“I also think it’s important to

balance that

with healthy emotional expression.”

“Some people try to

think themselves

out of feeling,

and that’s not how it works.”

*

He agreed,

“I know from experience.”

*

“That’s the best way to learn.”

*

Our conversation wrapped up

as the sun faded in the west

Then it dawned on me

like the sun was rising again

*

He was right

Life was easier for me

in those aspects

*

It was easy for me

to express emotion

to communicate

to love

*

The only reason why

it has been so hard for me

is that most earthlings struggle

the most with those 3 things

*

So it’s hard for people

to take me seriously

because they don’t

understand how I do

what seems impossible

to the superficial person

*

And it’s hard for me to

find someone who

goes as deep as me

Because most people

are either faking it

or fighting it with fear

*

It’s weird how something

That is supposed to be easy

can be hard

when society dictates

what is “normal”

*

Even with the stars placing all my signs at home

Earthly societies bring detriment to my doorstep

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.