Poets logo

Cut Ties

Moving on

By Bex JordanPublished 9 days ago 1 min read
Mountains (Photo: @UmaSabirah)

Traveling back to

A place I'm not from

But spent so much

Time and change and

Trauma and growth it may

As well have been

A million years.

This gorgeous girl

Beside me, lifting me

Into a space

Where I can face

The pain I ran

From. I see in her

A future, and so

I can finally start to

Let go of the past,

To collect my scared,

Scattered self

And throw things away

That I no longer need.

She takes me

By the hand and shows me

Things of beauty,

These mountains look different–

When she stares at them

In wonder, they become

Something more:

Solid, real, important.

We wander places she traveled

As a child, she shares

Things that hold meaning,

And somehow I become

Something more:

Solid, real, important.

I am falling even deeper

As I finally get to see her

For the radiant being

She is, so passionate and

Vibrant, full of

Life and Wisdom.

As she sees me,

I start to understand

I'm not here

Anymore…

I don't have to stay

Stuck in a time

That hurts me to think about.

And as I cut the final ties

That held me down

For longer than I needed,

I spin, the storm…

I'm reeling, and reality

Sets in,

But she holds me,

She steadies

And it doesn't matter anymore

Where I'm coming from,

I have a home:

This is where I am,

And I create

My own origin.

love poemsinspirational

About the Creator

Bex Jordan

She/They. Writer. Gardener. Cat-Lover. Nerd. Always looking up at the sky or down at the ground.

Profile photo by Román Anaya.

Instagram: @UmaSabirah

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Poppy 6 days ago

    This is enpowering and relatably written! 'To collect my scared, Scattered self' Was my favourite part! I love the impact of this!

Bex JordanWritten by Bex Jordan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.