Poets logo

Home

A Poem

By Angel AdagioPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
1

Home has never been a place.

Even if it were, I’ve never had a home.

A place to be myself, to be free of judgement, and to feel at peace.

I don’t know that.

I had places to live and to exist. None of those were my home.

I was a ticking time bomb; ready to explode at any moment, and there was no home to keep me safe.

Any warm feelings I get in a place though, like it could be a home, I sabotage in order to protect myself, but still end up homeless.

Home.

It never was a place.

The feeling.

It was always the love.

And now I have found a home, but I’m scared to completely accept it.

What if this home abandons me, hurts me, and makes me homeless again?

I don’t think it’ll happen, but I fear.

I love this home and I don’t want to lose it.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Angel Adagio

Thank you for taking the time to read some of my work. It may not be perfect, but it's real. I hope you'll stay a while.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Darkos8 months ago

    Beautiful poem ! I hope with time You heal wounds of previous experiences and will be able to accept to receive the gift and feel it safe and comfort !

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.