Poets logo

Home is Moments

no matter where you end up, you'll always have home.

By kazmyn Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

home to me has quickly become people, over places

it is defined by my memories, not my place of rest

home has taken many different forms;

crammed apartments

spacious rentals that never felt owned

laying my head back on the swaying tire swing that hung from a blossoming wood.

I believe that my idea of home

Directly correlates

With my values

Especially love

Of my family

and a love of my dreams

Sometimes

When you have not one place to call home

You feel misplaced.

I feel that growing out of a space

Is healthy

And trying to fit somewhere you’ve outgrown is only fighting nature

A losing battle.

Home to me

Will continue to be written

I see it as an ongoing scroll

That works to define my inner peace.

I hope to be written into many individual ideas of home.

I’ve been able to detach from the negative moments of my growth as a human

And was never squashed by things I had no control over.

I know that circumstances are different from many,

And that often times home makes them helpless.

I want my home to be wrapped in safety

Shelter sobriety and sun-drenched moments of tranquility, for anyone who may enter.

Home is people and hugs and happy hysterics that linger and make life worthwhile.

Home is just that. Moments.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

kazmyn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.