Poets logo

Home

A place within one’s soul

By Lissa Jean Johnson Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2022
6

Home (A place within one’s soul)

Is Home in the arms of a loved one?

Is home a place that you feel safe?

Or Is “Home” the chaos you grew up in?

Is “Home” the constant yelling, and degrading insults?

Is “Home” the feeling of never being enough,

Is “Home” the slap to the face before school?

Is “Home'' constantly worrying, wondering, when your

Next meal will be?

Is “Home”a toxic parent,

Someone who manipulates you before you can

Even understand what manipulation is?

Is “Home” something that is taught to us

Without even knowing it?

Is “Home”, looking for similar situations

That remind you of “Home”?

Do we look for the chaos in others to feel

Like “Home”?

Home to me was in the embrace of a friend's mom.

Home to me was in the smile of the cashier.

Home to me was in the teenager who saw a scared

Girl, and walked me to safety at a basketball game.

Home to me was in my boss who answered my call

At 10:30 at night to help find a spare tire for my car.

Home was in the friends who taught me

Love, kindness, and forgiveness.

Home was in the school teacher who stayed

Later just to help me, one student, who struggled.

Home for me was never in one person, or one place.

Home was in the small acts of kindness from others.

People who showed me that there is good in the world.

That is “Home”.

heartbreak
6

About the Creator

Lissa Jean Johnson

I am a survivor of child sexual abuse.

I broke free from a toxic mother & step-father at 28 with the help of Cognitive Behavioral Therapy.

While going through therapy, I wrote a book; The Trauma That Made Me.

My writing has become my voice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • test2 years ago

    Home is the warmest place

  • Pretty good. Keep up the great work. Thank you for writing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.