Poets logo

Home & All That Jazz...

Memories :)

By Tiffany Gordon Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
68
Photo Courtesy of Author

🏡 Home is...

The carefree days of my youth…

A time period full of adventure...

A timeframe with limited responsibilities & NO chronic pain...

A timeframe when Big Momma, the Beautiful and Strong woman that raised me, was still alive and well…

🏡 Home to me…

is comfort…

And all of the fun…

that I used to have…

before headaches, responsibilities, and bills entered the picture… 😝

Fortunately… This is not a somber story…😁

🏡 For Home is:

*Cruisin' the waterfront with my besties

*Clubbin' on base

*Flirtin' on threeway

*Shoppin' at the Bon, Lerner's & Brass Plum

*New Concept's night club

*Bumpin' Snoop Dogg's: Nuthin' But A G Thang, Bay Bay!! DJ Quick's: Tonite, Aaliyah's: One In A Million, Erykah Badu's: Tyrone, Missy Elliot's: Hot Boyz & I Can't Stand The Rain, Mary J Blige's: I'm Going Down, Brandy's: I Wanna Be Down, Chubb Rock's: Just The Two of Us, Tevin Campbell's: Can We Talk, Naughty By Nature's: OPP, Third Base's: Step Into The AM, Black Sheep's: The Choice Is Yours, Jodeci's: Come & Talk To Me, Bone Thugs-n-Harmony's: Notorious Thugs & Crossroads and Hi-Five's: The Kissing Game. 💋

*Rumpshakin' to Wrecks-N-Effect's: Rumpshaker and D'angelo's famous track, Lady

*Fellas flexin' in Karl Kani

*Sportin' baby doll dresses with spiral curls or finger waves

*Watchin' Family Matters! Steve Urkel & Laura Winslow Forever! :)

*Proudly watchin' Spike Lee's: Do the Right Thing & School Daze

*Drinkin' Cherry Slurpees & eating now & laters

*Eatin' Taco Time, Hoagie Sandwiches, & Pizza Time without adding a pound to my waistline :)

*Joinin' my high school friendship crew: (S)weet (M)ixtures of (C)olor--Your girl "Elegance" is in tha house! lol

*Sportin' acid-washed jeans & African medallions

*Days with Jerry Springer, Rikki Lake & Maury P. ; Nights with Jenny Jones :)

*Being on the hunt for Chris Webber at Sharkies night club

*Tupac & Shai concerts

*Droolin' over Tupac in the movies: Poetic Justice & Juice as well as in the I Get Around music video

*Workin' at The Mall Info Booth & Olan Mills

*Making mandatory gossip-filled 3-way-calls to "My Homegirls!"

*Vixen lipstick

*Motions Relaxers

*Dejay's jeans

*Watchin' MTV's The Real World and Road Rules

*Cheerin' U-dub on at Apple Cup

*Grad School Adventures

*Pioneer Square

*HBCUs

*Doogie Howser, A Different World, and The Cosby Show, Saved by the Bell & New York Undercover

*& cool flicks like Monster's Ball

In a nutshell, Home is The 90s!!!! Nostalgia is bliss!

love poems
68

About the Creator

Tiffany Gordon

I am a super-spiritual, fun-loving artist, writer, & peer-counselor residing in the Pacific Northwest. I am also an Institute of Children's Literature alumna who enjoys writing about the triumph of the human spirit.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    Brilliant chef-d'oeuvre 👑😉✨❤️ I Used a Translation lol 😆 ❗❗

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    This was so fun!! I bet it was a blast to write and reminisce about all these things. I loved the line where 'food didn't add to the waistline'...me too, me too. Great work!!

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Love your home Jam ♥️🥰I think your home might better with your dolls children

  • Ooooo definitely 90s FTW! Loved your poem so much!

  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    Ohhhhhh!!! This with ALL the jam JAMS! Miss me some dat! All YAY!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Love this one. Well done

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Loving this! All of your favorite things!

  • This is so you!!! I love it...

  • Your most popular , one more read and one more heart from me and I loved it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.