Poets logo

Home Again, Home Again

Your daughter is done.

By Kelly Schwenk CharlestonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Thank you for not saying “I told you so.”

You don’t need to, I know.

I knew before the “I do.”

Now, home again,

I’ll tell you the truth.

You always said the words

“Love yourself”, “Safety first.”

But I did what I saw,

not what I heard.

I sacrificed, self aside,

went to the ends of the earth

and I finally learned,

true love is never earned.

Ground into dust, I return,

only temporarily a burden.

I’ll heal and run, and

hope that one day,

you will do the same.

Because only then, together,

we could be home again.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kelly Schwenk Charleston

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.