Poets logo

Home: A Love Letter

Josh, my sweet darling love of mine, I didn’t intend for this to rhyme, but it just feels right.

By Bianca PolizziPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

The first day we met, I mean

Properly met

Our souls knew the journey we would travel

Before we did

Do you remember how natural it felt

The way we were holding hands

And just couldn’t get enough of each other

We kissed in the street

Before going in to Patisserie Valerie

How we sat on the bench before our trains and just stared into each other’s eyes

I realised then that I was yours

Entirely

And just hoped you felt the same

I now know that time doesn’t exist

Because not only did time stop, it also hit

fast forward and knew the journey we had already lived and were to live together

Timeless

This exceptional adventure

But god does time drag when I’m not with you

Although difficult, Distance, we’ve endured it

But with that, a Promise, we secured it

I just keep thinking there’s no way I can possibly love you more

Then a new day dawns and I’m deeper into being yours

Yours Truly.

I’m yours forever, to infinity, for eternity.

I always have been , I just didn’t remember until I met you again and now I’m so sure

That we’ve already travelled this journey before

And the wonderful thing is knowing

That we have each other forever

We are one and the same

So we’ll never be lonely, we are the same energy

Energy.

And you draw me close. Magnetic.

Nothing I’ve ever felt before, yet something I know deep in my core.

More than anything. I know this.

Home. And you’re mine. And I’m yours and I’m home.

When I had a panic attack and that evening you told me that you adore me, at least 20 times

To try free my mind from my own darkness

You bring me light

During my thunderstorms

You are my sunshine

When I cried in Sicily

Had that breakdown over being too happy

Overwhelmed with emotion

With how great everything was going

And how easy it was

You tried to hold me and laughed and told me that

I am precious

You took my heart right then and healed me, lifted me up out of anxiety, showed me where my laughter had been hiding.

For every time we’ve slow danced

Moving step by step

Hand in hand

My head on your shoulder

Really listening to the music as we move and dance

Pulling me closer

Holding hands and reminding each other to be here

In the present moment

the surprise backward hugs while I’m doing the washing up

Every single waist grab

Holding me tight between both of your hands

Making me feel safe

Safety

It's your wisdom my darling

Your knowledge of the world

And me

You know my everything better than I know myself

And that's the truth

You see me.

You are my guiding light

In the darkness

My stability

In the rush of emotion

Overwhelming

When I'm drowning

You lift me and show me

How to breathe

You are my rock

You ground me

When everything becomes fuzzy

Vision blurred, you give me clarity

It’s the way you turn your eyebrows upwards and in

Look at me sideways

And call me darling

The way you half smile,

And know what to say

And when I need to hear it

You get me, you get it.

Oh my sweet darling, love

I love you more than anything

In every moment that we remind each other to breathe

Breathing deeply and

Staring deep

Into each other’s eyes

That place where our souls meet

Well yours is gold

And it's a beautiful place to go

Although

I’ve never really known where I belong

I now know for certain

That your soul is my home.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Bianca Polizzi

I’m a vegan poet with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.