Poets logo

Home

By Chris AmesPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Home

I see you every now and when

I get lost in bars and stranger friends;

Then, you wink at me through uncertainty.

The next morning, a nexus through all week.

The stars were falling that night, the moon was cool. Your shooting star crossed a smile in your sky when I again had to say goodbye.

To ride the night back to bed, “I had fun”, so she said.

I had to rise again, back from the dead.

I met with a sigh, a late morning another night gone by.

Oh, I miss good times.

Home,

She’s within and without.

She pushed my skin to move forward again and kicks me out to pull me back in without a friend.

She’s the goddess of love I met on the street, remind me:

“It’s worth it”

In the quiet space, I find my place.

I unmask a thousand faces out there.

Be my constant, change my plans like you do while I can never seem to understand until I give up and take your hand again.

You thief, you rob me, trick my lies that are true. I’d stay lost without you but there,

Out there, getting lost is what I should do.

Stars are shooting, watch me burn out your sky.

Leave your darkness for my hot fucking fire burning behind, you can’t hide from me. I can’t lie to me, I’ve tried. I died.

So I sent a letter to Death.

‘Breathe’

Or should I say the last Breath?

She answered through space I could never reach or see on my own

She came to me at home, all alone;

Offered poetry.

A pen I had to shove in my chest and pull out

Any and everything I had left.

Just a fucking breath away from the last game of chest I never played to conquer a queen through conspicuous moves.

Someone I could never reach on my own.

A king, in a battlefield with a stylish groove that offered a win he could never prove.

So we began playing until there was nothing left, and death, my queen shown me:

She brushed the light from her hair

On her waist a shadow

which always found itself there.

The detail, so hollow, and beautiful,

I stared.

In plunged into her abyss

I relished in her home, this connection,

Filled another hole

I could never fill on my own.

Oh, how misleading home can be;

Turnings weeds into treasury.

When the past is rust at the bottom of the sea,

The chest contains the air to breathe.

A situation you’ve seen, a situation inside of me.

Home, you are always inside of me.

Everywhere, in everything my eyes can see.

I love and feel you eternally.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Chris Ames

Transcriber of reality

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.