Fiction logo

The Call

From the Valley

By Chris AmesPublished 2 years ago 13 min read
1

There weren’t always dragons in the Valley.

Instead, glassy skies above the small town I was raised in, daily routines, and striving to escape the everyday boredom that had come over me.

From within the old shop, I’d stare at these skies with the urge to one day break out of this valley and begin my adventure, much like the guys I worked with did on what seemed like a daily basis. Everyone else in the Valley seemed content and like they couldn’t wonder about anything else outside of this place. But I felt something different, a call from within’ that begged me to question; that’s how I came to admire the Painter’s Guild. They were travelers of the arts, people I looked up to, and we constantly encouraged self-growth in each other. People I could trust, no less. We would spend our time in this shop discussing ideas and stories, studying ancient crypts of manuscripts from other adventures, paintings of old times, and trying our minds at crafts like the legends in the books we would read about. Well, from what I read. The others would explore to meet these legends while I tended the shop.

I’d hear all their crazy stories when they returned; wild, ambitious adventures. Usually about fierce women from far out lands and the creatures they would slay on canvas, with exotic treasures as rewarded, but mainly, their newly found status across the lands. It was always about reputation and making a name for yourself in these times. Humbly, I wished for clarity on how I would make my own one day. I was always interested in Shamanism and how they had practiced thinking; “When one goes off into the wilderness alone, that is where they truly find themselves.” Quotes like those evoked my sense of wonder daily, which kept me on the edge of my seat as I would tediously file paperwork.

In the blink of my eye, as if a prayer had come true, that’s when I saw a dragon flying above the glassy sky from the shop. As If I was lost in a daydream, I couldn’t tell If it was real or not. I ran outside to witness the wings of this beast stretch across the clouds in the golden hour of the day. “A Dragon.”, I thought to myself, “There’s no mistaking it.” The fire in my heart set ablaze as I rushed back into the shop to tell the others what I had seen. Yet, to my surprise, no one believed me. I shrugged it off as I closed the shop that night and went home to tell my family over dinner.

We were a poor bunch, farmers and hunter-gathering type nomads that couldn’t settle ever since my come-to-be, grandfather, and father had died in battle. My dad died from a heart attack, a prisoner of war with the Kingdom of Petros, and was tortured to death, while my grandfather was a retired general from the Kingdom before that and caught a disease during his time in service which eventually caught up to him over a decade later. Leaving my grandmother who had found her way to us, and mom over my brother and me. This caused a lot of tension in my household between each other having to pull their weight so we could get by. When a foundation falls, it’s extremely difficult to keep a house together after all. My brother was known as ‘The Monkey King’, who mainly kept to himself after losing his tribe to the last war. He was adopted into our household after my grandmother found him on her way to the valley during the war. She told us he had saved her life by a very mysterious means of escaping from threats. Though he did keep to himself since we met him, I never hesitated to bug him about things and pick his mind. He always seemed to have some insight into the current affairs of the world, something he wouldn’t get off his tongue I thought.

Though he was mainly quiet, he was always pondering something in his room of experiments. “I saw a dragon today” I’d tell him after dinner. “Did you now?” He replied, preoccupied. “I believe this is worth investigating, I was thinking of consulting the sheep bearer on Mount Olympus for guidance. If you’d witnessed something breathtaking, wouldn’t you pursue it?” I insisted. “To each their own, just try not to lose yourself along the way.” He remarked. “Lose myself? I feel lost every day in this boring routine. Making money, paying dues, harvesting, and occasionally meeting someone to fight on hunts with is getting rather old. I’m ready for something new.” I explained. “Sometimes a routine is the safest thing for you to have, at least you know you’re not going without.” He said simply. “I understand, but I have to try following my urges, or else, I’ll never know,” I replied as he raised an eyebrow with a slight glance in my direction. “Take this with you.” He instructed as he handed me a leather journal.

That would be the end of the conversation. My brother only spoke when he had something to say, though he was younger than, he was mature in mind and steadfast in the heart.

The next morning, I would return to the shop with my goal in mind; as soon as the workday is over, I’ll use my vacation time to pursue the dragon; Starting with the sheep bearer on Mount Olympus. From his house, I’m sure he had seen the dragon as well.

Adamantly reminding myself, I walked into the shop being dark and very quiet; This was not usual. Looking around, I didn’t see anyone inside at first, until I began walking to the front of the building where the boss and a girl were discussing a painting commission. Once I realized they were present, I continued my normal duties of tending the register and managing appointments for today and the future. “You want to go and grab us some lunch?” The boss asked. “Yeah, of course, what would you li—” I turned my head to ask the boss until I was interrupted by the mere sight of this woman glancing back at me. This golden hair waiving over these, greenish, blue eyes, looking into mine, I froze. I was struck by this beauty, and I believe she noticed as she giggled. Snapping out of it, I replied,” Uhm, yeah, sorry, what would you like?” “Just some soup from the square please.” He spoke. “You bet; I’ll be right back.” Walking through the market to grab us food, I couldn’t help wondering what had come over me just then. I’d seen plenty of gorgeous women working at this shop, but what exactly struck my attention about her? Mindlessly strolling the paved way through the market, I bumped into a stall, knocking over a crystal ball. “Ahh!” I reached quickly to grab it. “I’m sorry, I didn’t see you there!” I explained to the cloaked woman occupying the stall. “No worries child, I see something had brought you about?” her old voice crooned. “Uhm, no ma’am, just making way to grab some lunch, that’s all.” Come to think of it, I’d passed through this market five days a week for the past year, yet I’d never seen this woman here before. “Well, you’ve touched my crystal ball, so you must have a reading before you continue out or I cannot continue my services to others.” She implied. “Again, I’m sorry, can I pay you the difference to have it rendered?” “No sir, the readings must be done as your energy has already been collected in the crystal. The only way to release it is to have your energy read now.” She insisted. “Well, I suppose I can write this off as my lunch break; okay, have at it then.”

I’d set in front of her as she would grab my hands. The energy from the crystal then disappeared into herself. As she closed her eyes, my hands became warm beneath hers; it felt as if the very energy from my body was being pulled out as she spoke softly:

“You belong up front, not in the back of any crowd. I see you within a party, a loud party, but be warned, not everyone in your party wants the things you do.” My mind began questioning what she was referring to as she continued. “You’re a writer, aren’t you?” She opened her eyes and looked at me with a smile. “Well, yeah I write a little here and there.” “Don’t belittle your gifts.” She remarked. “When following your destiny, the gifts are given to you to realize the correct path and not be led astray.” Wow, I thought, she could tell that just by looking at me? “Be careful of the dark arts, illusions, and deceptions. They come in the most obvious forms that we overlook in our daily lives.” She rambled on. “What is she talking about?” I wondered, trying to concentrate. “However, I see something else. A beautiful girl… Ahh, your daughter.” “My daughter!?” I exclaimed, “as a matter of fact, I see two.” I pulled my hand from hers, then said, “Ma’am thank you much for your reading, but I must be on my way to return to my duties.” She smiled politely and nodded, “Of course, dear, be on your way; but do remember, your pen is your weapon.” I smiled hesitantly and continued to grab the lunch and rush back to the shop.

“What took you so long!?” The shop owner asked. “Sorry sir, there was an accident at the market that required my attention.” As I gave him his soup, he calmed down and I asked, “Where did the woman from earlier go?” “Oh, just another customer coming through. She got her order as soon as you left.” “No kidding,” I replied. Stupid old woman reading my palms, I thought to myself. “I’ll be taking my vacation next week to travel out and pursue the dragon I saw,” I told him. “All by yourself!? You’d better travel with some armor if you plan on tracking this ‘dragon’.” I appreciated his acknowledgment and nodded.

The day was carried out like any other until I began closing the shop. Being the first one in and last to leave put a delay on my plan to head to Mount Olympus. As I loaded the remaining cargo in my carriage, I noticed it was not only dark outside but also a thick layer of fog surrounding the village. I couldn’t see anything through it, but the sound of a band of horses galloping by echoed just beyond the village…

“Excuse me” a lady’s voice announced from the dark. “Who goes there?” I declared. “I mean you no harm” the woman then steps from behind the building and uncloaks her hood. It was her, the client I was looking for earlier. Stumped, I hesitated to say, “Uh, hey! It's you again, what are you doing out here this late?” “I came back to talk to you alone, as I had remembered who you are.” “Who I am, do I know you?” “No, but I have seen you before.” She spoke. “…From where? I’m sure I would’ve noticed you from anywhere” I flirted. Chuckling, she replied, “From my dream.” “You’re dream? Me?” “Yes, you were in my dream, within a battlefield of dragons and you reached your hand out and told me, ‘Everything’s going to be okay.’” Confused as I was, she didn’t seem to be lying from what I could tell but the details were strange. ‘A battlefield with dragons?’ I thought to myself. “Who are you?” I asked her.

“I cannot tell you at this time, but I know you saw the dragon flying south yesterday. Follow the dragon to the Island of Pirates and look into the dragon’s eye if you can. Legend tells of one being able to witness time’s passages from the dragon’s eye.” She explains, brushing me off. “I guess I’ll have to take you at your word and see for myself.” She smiled with a steady stare. Realizing she wasn’t going to explain anything else, I blushed and nodded as I gathered the luggage for my new quest.

I traveled all night as the anticipation kept my night lantern burning through the woods. On my way just outside of the Valley, I paused my Ox to notice the horse tracks I’d heard from earlier. “It seemed to be about 10 horses going through this way.” I’d think to myself. As I turned my torch to get back on my Ox, the light bounced back catching my attention from something shiny on the ground. I walked to check it out, and as I approached it, a small silver pendant with an emblem on it. As I picked it up, the pendant had a swallow with a letter embarked in the center. I stared off into the dark woods. “Were they headed to the dragon…?”

I thought to myself shaking my head. I decided to stay focused and continue my way east to Mt. Olympus.

It was a few hours of travel to Mount Olympus. The giant mountain hovered over the horizon of our village. It claimed the name from the idea that when one would trek to the top, not only could you see the stars so clearly, but no glassy skies; the surrounding towns below would seem to be a physical map itself. Completely within sight, it felt as though you could travel anywhere in an instant...

When the northern star was high in the sky, I’d finally arrived just outside the sheep bearer’s property. Without an instant to waste, I heard dogs immediately spotting me out. Going haywire, and of course, it being late, they charged at me. Raising my torch, I did my best to show them who I was but that didn’t slow them down. Off guard, they jumped me and got one sniff at me before giving me too many kisses. A whistle from the top of the hill called the dogs off as I gathered myself to meet.

Just outside the house, there were no lights on or around the house; the only light being the moon and stars and one faint spark at the end of a pipe that barely lightens his face. The sheep bearer beckoned me without getting out of his chair as the dogs laid out around him. “So, you’ve come to share your story, huh?” “My story?” I replied. “Of course, your story. That is what brought you here is it not?” “The sight of the dragon is what brought me here.” “And?” He insisted. “And tracking a dragon is not something a man without a weapon does,” I answered. “Well said, as usual; in luck, I too saw the dragon. It was heading to the Island of Pirates.” With a little shudder in my tongue, I thought, ‘how did she know?’ “So, I was told, a woman approached me earlier today claiming she had seen me in her dream within a battlefield of dragons, telling her everything was going to be all right.” “Dreams tell us many things we want to hear, and many things we don’t,” he replied. “I wonder what yours might translate.” He stood up and put his pipe out on a lantern nearby. Illuminating his face, he greeted me with a faint grin. “Long time, older brother.” “Indeed.” I returned the hug. “In the morning light, we shall descend south to the Island of Pirates. Come, make yourself at home and rest. You’ll need it to pass through the glassy skies.”

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Chris Ames

Transcriber of reality

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.