Poets logo

Him: A Starlit Maze

For the Short and Sweet Challenge

By Poppy Published 11 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
10
Image Created with Midjourney

Our eyes meet like

The sea’s wave and

The sun lit soft sand

He asks me how I am

My lips part to ask him if

He will ever love me but

“Good, how are you?”

Is all I can say

He will look at me

And I will gaze back

What else can I do?

Who else is even

In the room when

He is here?

They say

The fire will fade

I know, I know

But love will not

Will it?

It will last as long as

The sun will burn

(It has so far)

When I shut my eyes

To the dark end of day

I see him

He is a maze and

I am lost in him

The wall is too tall

To look over

All I see is a

Haze of stars

I used to be numb

Now I am full of him

My mind, my soul,

The beat in the

Left side of

My ribs

All of me

Is him

Is that bad?

I do not know

If I even care

❀❀❀❀❀

If you enjoyed this please check out more of my poems:

heartbreaklove poems
10

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 months ago

    Your poems are always so relatable! Who else is even in the room when he is here? I've felt that before. Such a beautiful feeling! Loved your poem!

  • Incredibly beautiful, poignant & relatable.

  • Cezanne Libellen11 months ago

    My favorite lines: Our eyes meet like The sea’s wave and The sun lit soft sand It paints such a beautiful picture!!

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    "He is a maze and I am lost in him" What a wonderful line. This one of the best I have read.

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Loving it!!!

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Consumed by the thoughts of having him the way you want. Great entry for the challenge!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.