Poets logo

High Tide, Low Life

A poem about friendship and depression.

By Tom AlexanderPublished about a year ago 1 min read

You paint yourself blue, always blue

this letter brings me down

perched upon a rusty trailer

paint peels over my shoulder

I've been drinking

since the boats were rested

on the muddy estuary bed

It's high tide, low life

high tide, low life

I won't stop my reaching out

if there's any way to help, I'll find it

you're so slow to take my hand

scratching at your skin for answers

I don't have any good advice

I do what I can to just keep living right

I'll listen if you'll let me

you know; my love is not the enemy

It can't be this way forever

it won't always be like this

It's high tide, low life

high tide, low life

You say you only paint

when you get blue

and I suppose

that's just the way

the sea feels

You paint yourself blue

always blue

I guess

that's just the way

the sea feels...

sad poetry

About the Creator

Tom Alexander

I mostly write about human relationships and try to imagine what other people might be thinking. I do it for my own amusement. I love mulling over titles and phrases throughout my day. It also helps me sleep.

https://linktr.ee/tomalexwrite

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Tom AlexanderWritten by Tom Alexander

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.