Poets logo

High School

Year by Year

By Cassie GracePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Freshman Year, Fall:

Summer ended,

High school started.

Summer ended,

It was time to get serious.

Summer ended,

A new school.

Summer ended,

My brother forced to switch schools - he was defending my virtue.

Summer ended,

Rumors spread.

Summer ended,

No, I’m not a lesbian.

But why would it matter if I was?

Summer ended,

Mom let me switch schools.

Freshman Year, Spring:

There’s this boy,

He’s friends with my brother.

There’s this boy,

He’s older, a Junior.

There’s this boy,

He asked me to prom.

There’s this boy,

He cheated - a week before prom.

There’s this boy,

I took him back.

There’s this boy,

Summer would be great with him.

Sophomore Year, Fall:

Summer ended,

It was not great.

Summer ended,

That boy - he cheated again.

Summer ended,

I tried to end my life.

Summer ended,

I made new friends - they were seniors.

Summer ended,

That boy got in a fight with my brother.

Summer ended,

Mom and dad decided we’re moving.

Summer ended,

I’m switching schools again.

Sophomore Year, Spring:

New city,

We lost a family member.

New city,

New people.

New city,

New school.

New city,

New me.

New city,

New ways to disappoint.

New city,

That boy from middle school is back.

Junior Year, Fall:

Summer ended,

My parents are disappointed in who I’ve become.

Summer ended,

I tried to do it again.

Summer ended,

My life didn’t.

Summer ended,

The boy from middle school cheated.

Summer ended,

My parents thought it best for me to switch - back to private school.

Junior Year, Spring:

My parents were right,

I’m so lucky they were.

My parents were right,

Something told them I needed to be a bit nearer to them.

My parents were right,

That boy from middle school wasn’t right for me.

My parents were right,

That boy, his sister and parents should still be here.

My parents were right,

They saved my life, again.

Senior Year, Fall:

Summer ended,

Things are okay.

Summer ended,

My counselor cleared me.

Summer ended,

I’m smiling more.

Summer ended,

I’m still hurting.

Summer ended,

I’m fighting for my happiness.

Summer ended,

I feel happy again.

Summer ended,

Volleyball started.

Summer ended,

I’m still me.

Summer ended,

After all this time, I’m still me.

Senior Year, Spring:

I’m okay,

Accepted into Campbellsville University.

I’m okay,

Accepted into University of Kentucky.

I’m okay,

I met my biological father and his wife.

I’m okay,

My class went on a mission trip to Honduras.

I’m okay,

Prom date bailed - I still went and had fun with my friends.

I’m okay,

I passed all my finals!

I’m okay,

I graduated on time, with my class - I almost didn’t.

I’m okay.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Cassie Grace

I'm from Kentucky. I write stuff. I use inspiration from my personal life for most of my writing. I'm currently working on writing a book, but we'll see how that turns out. For now, enjoy some of my poems and random archived writings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.