Poets logo

Hidden

a poem

By Aathavi ThangesPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Hidden
Photo by Ben Vaughn on Unsplash

Where is God when you’re not looking?

Where is God when the world comes falling?

Where is hope in the dead of night, crawling around without a care for your life?

Where do the answers lie when you’re lying wide awake?

Your life paints a picture but the paint just peels away,

and your mind merely moves past the early, morning grey.

I offer all I give, but the walls that barely break

thicken with my structure, and close with me they stay:

the mind, the heart, the thoughts

the fears we love to blame

my quiet soul in songs

the words we used to say

in lonesome, loving longing

for dreams beyond this life

a horrid, crushing haunting

releases me from time

When God is hushed away,

replaced by greed and pride

vanity awakens

stealing our true sight

of the world with all its beauty

for dreams beyond this life

My God, where have you hidden?

relieve me of this lie.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Aathavi Thanges

Disposing my thoughts one page at a time

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jenny King7 months ago

    May God reveals to you his presence.:)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.