Poets logo

Hi, I Saw You Were Online

IM's From A Married Man

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
11
Hi, I Saw You Were Online
Photo by Christian Wiediger on Unsplash

Awakened around 1 am

I wipe my eyes and shake my head

Can't seem to fully comprehend

the thoughts behind a one-night stand

The late-night ding, on my silent phone

it's you know who

are you alone?

It's been a few

but I'm sure, you know

you have been creeping in my mind - for sho'

*

Can you come meet?

I'm at a bar

just grab your keys

get in your car

I've always had this thing for you

I know one time, you felt that too

*

To be polite, I say, what's up

last thing I heard, you were in love

I'm not interested in runner-up

I swear to God above

Yeah, but she doesn't keep the fire lit

we fuss and fight and cuss and shit

I can hardly handle it....

I guess I lost my shot

*

I hesitate, my blood is hot

this is exactly how I got

This 3-year-old, here in my bed

another woman in his head

I will not be a part of this

he said, if only for a kiss

I answered back, now getting pissed

the answer's no, that's all you get

*

A few more pleas

then dark again

Just like the breeze

a passing wind

A passing thought

that never was

and I was caught

but not the cause

Why does it have to be like that

the sneaking round like alley cats

You made your bed

you made your choice

Stuck in my head

that little voice

I guess I'll stay the way I am

single, without the give a damn

fact or fiction
11

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Graham9 months ago

    That's one way to look at it.

  • I learned that this is a true story based on your replies to Randy and Joe. I'm so sorry this happened to you 🥺 I hope writing this helped. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Joe Patterson9 months ago

    WOW!!! OUTSTANDING!!! One of my new favorite poems.

  • I can imagine this happening to you, Kelli. What I can't imagine is what it takes to have that kind of audacity. Maybe that's the autism speaking, but I just don't get it. Makes me kinda feel sick in the stomach. Blessings to you, my friend, & may your sleep time in the future be uninterrupted by any but that precious three year old. Greyson, is it?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.